New district chair

Councillor Judith Twigg.
Councillor Judith Twigg.
Have your say

The new chairman of the district of the Derbyshire Dales is councillor Judith Twigg.

Cllr Twigg, of Bakewell, has been a member of Derbyshire Dales District Council since 1983. She succeeds Jennifer Radford.

Cllr Twigg, who is also a county councillor, will represent the Dales at more than 200 functions throughout the coming year.

She was chairman of the district previously in 1992 and, as a mayor of Bakewell on three occasions, she has now held a chain of office five times.

Cllr Twigg named two local causes – Bakewell All Saints Church roof fund and the Bakewell Community Trust - as the beneficiaries of the Chairman’s fund-raising efforts in 2010/11.