The Sherlocks to play world's biggest music festival

The Sherlocks to perform at SXSW in Texas. Photo: Glenn Ashley.

The Sherlocks to perform at SXSW in Texas. Photo: Glenn Ashley.

0
Have your say

South Yorkshire's rising rock stars The Sherlocks are today celebrating their first headline UK tour with news that they have been booked to play the world's biggest music festival.

They indie four piece will perform at the South by Southwest Music and Media Conference (SXSW) - a six-day event held every March in Austin, Texas.

SXSW Music is the largest music festival of its kind in the world, which showcases over 2,200 acts ranging from the unsigned to the iconic.

It will se them following in the footsteps of the likes of Damon Albarn, Jake Bugg, Emmylou Harris and Vampire Weekend, who have all played there.

This Sherlocks will be part of the event's 30th anniversary celebrations this year. SXSW aims to educate and inspire musicians and professionals alike, with sessions attended by over 30,000 people and showcasing artists.

The 2016 festival takes place March 15-20 - for more details visit www.sxsw.com
The Sherlocks are two sets of brothers, frontman Kiaran Crook, aged 20, and drummer Brandon, 23, guitarist Josh Davidson, 22, and bassist Andy, 17.

Drummer Brandon, who graduated in law from Sheffield Hallam University last summer, took time out from their busy touring schedule to tell us: "The SXSW gig is our biggest announcement. We are going to Austin, Texas.

"It's a music capital of the world. The BBC are backing us to go. It's a massive festival and we were announced on Radio One.

"We are currently on our biggest headline tour, a full month of shows. We want to thank everyone so much for their support.

"We have only released two singles, we are unsigned, had little press or radio and we are still pulling in huge crowds."

The Sherlocks to play SXSW in Texas.

The Sherlocks to play SXSW in Texas.

Last year saw the Sheffield-based quartet become the first unsigned band since the Arctic Monkeys, more than a decade ago, to sell out Sheffield's famous Leadmill venue.

They have just supported The Libertines on three dates of the band’s UK tour and are now currently on their own first UK headline tour, with many dates sold out, including Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester and Glasgow.

Tonight (Wed, Feb 3, 2016) they play The Underground, in Plymouth.

New single Heart of Gold has received airplay from BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac, Huw Stephens, Greg James and BBC 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq.

Head of BBC Radio 1, George Ergatoudis, tweeted: “This band have got it. TheSherlocksUK LOVE this track”.

The band is now a full time job for the boys, who formed The Sherlocks five years ago when they met in Bolton upon Dearne.

They started out doing covers of The Clash, The Beatles and The Police classics in working men’s clubs and have now performed more than 700 gigs, also supporting The Beat, Ordinary Boys, Reverend and The Makers and The Enemy.

Fore more news about the band visit their official web site at thesherlocksmusic.co.uk
UK TOUR DATES 2016 - all tickets see www.seetickets.com/tour/the-sherlocks and thesherlocksmusic.co.uk
Wednesday 03 February 2016: The Underground, Plymouth, UK

Thursday 04 February 2016: The Joiners, Southampton, UK

Friday 05 February 2016: Moles Club, Bath, UK

Saturday 06 February 2016: The Louisiana, Bristol, UK - SOLD OUT

Sunday 07 February 2016: Patterns (formerly Audio), Brighton, UK

Monday 08 February 2016: The Bullingdon, Oxford, UK

Tuesday 09 February 2016: The Borderline, London, UK

Wednesday 10 February 2016: The Bodega Social Club, Nottingham, UK - SOLD OUT

Thursday 11 February 2016: Waterfront, Norwich, UK

Friday 12 February 2016: The Picturedrome, Northampton, UK

Saturday 13 February 2016: Esquires, Bedford, UK

Sunday 14 February 2016: The Craufurd Arms, Wolverton, UK

Tuesday 16 February 2016: The Courtyard, Rainbow Venues, Birmingham, UK

Wednesday 17 February 2016: FRÜIT, Hull, UK

Thursday 18 February 2016: Games Room, Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, UK - SOLD OUT

Friday 19 February 2016: The Theatre at Arts Club, Liverpool, UK - SOLD OUT

Saturday 20 February 2016: Manchester Academy 3, Manchester, UK - SOLD OUT

Sunday 21 February 2016: York Duchess, York, UK

Monday 22 February 2016: The Sugarmill, Stoke On Trent, UK

Tuesday 23 February 2016: Think Tank?, Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK

Wednesday 24 February 2016: King Tut's Wah Wah Hut, Glasgow, UK - SOLD OUT

Friday 26 February 2016: Middlesbrough Arena, Middlesbrough, UK

Saturday 30 April 2016: Live At Leeds 2016

Friday 15 July 2016: Moseley Park, Moseley, UK