Riders converge for Matlock’s 25-mile trial

Leigh Fearn was second in the time trial. Photo by Eric Ruthenberg.
Leigh Fearn was second in the time trial. Photo by Eric Ruthenberg.
Have your say

Matlock Cycling Club hosted their first Hilly 25-mile Open Time Trial of the season last Saturday, with riders from Matlock and other Derbyshire clubs, as well from as further afield, gathering to compete.

Spring put in an early appearance, with the dry and sunny but occasionally chilly conditions making for an exciting event.

A total of 28 riders turned out to negotiate the hills, twists, turns, temporary traffic lights and vintage cars to achieve some excellent times.

Riders set off at one minute intervals from the start point at Rowsley, and rode via Youlgreave, Long Rake, Monyash, Newhaven and Grangemill to the finish just short of Hawleys Bridge on the Alport Road.

Long Rake provided an excellent vantage point from which to assess riders’ progress. By this point Matlock CC’s Andy Woolf had already overtaken the previous four riders and later in the race the winner, Charles Taylor was already up half a minute on Adam Kenway, who was in turn half a minute up on Leigh Fearn.

However, by the finish, Fearn had regained the advantage to achieve second place, with Kenway settling for third position.

The fastest junior rider was Fusion CC’s Liam Badger, who completed the course in just 1 hour, 29 minutes and 39 seconds.

Matlock CC’s Kevin White and Andy Woolf made sixth and seventh place respectively.


(1) Charles Taylor, South Pennine RC 01:01:14; (2) Leigh Fearn, Matlock CC 01:02:04; (3) Adam Kenway, Team Zenith www.Buzzcycles.co.uk 01:03:43; (4) Simon Dale, Nottingham Clarion CC 01:04:12; (5) Steve Gibson, Peak Road Club 01:05:37; (6) Kevin White, Matlock CC 01:07:59; (7) Andrew Woolf, Matlock CC 01:10:39; (8) Simon Parkin, Belper BC 01:11:11; (9) Stewart Bates, Beeston RC 01:11:36; (10) Stephen I’Anson, Buxton CC 01:12:26; (11) Andrew Hicklin, Fusion CC 01:12:29; (12) Alan Whyte, VC Long Eaton 01:14:48; (13) Lou Collins, Beeston RC 01:15:05; (14) Chris Sharp, Matlock CC 01:18:18; (15) Alec Dovinson, North Notts Olympic RC 01:18:57; (16) Joe Rostern, Manchester Whs CC 01:18:57; (17) Andrew Naylor, Matlock CC 01:22:09; (18) Jon Singfield, VC Long Eaton 01:22:16; (19) Stewart Marsh, Matlock CC 01:25:01; (20) Howard Partridge, TFN Tri Club 01:26:28; (21) Brian Peto, VC Long Eaton 01:27:08; (22) William Prout, ABC Centreville 01:27:28; (23) Liam Badger, Fusion CC 01:29:39; (23) John Hassal, Bossard Wheelers 01:33:32; (24) Michael Sword, Sherwood CC 01:33:38; (26) Andrew Marshall, Matlock CC 01:35:30; (27) Josh Eaton, Matlock CC 01:39:18