Play the field

editorial image

These Sunday footballers are at the top of their division back in 1974 when the picture was taken.

The Baslow Rutland Arms’ Sunday League Team were champions of Division Two of the Chesterfield League.

From left to right the man snapped here are manager Idris Jones, Alan Gladwin, Melvin McGrath, Herick Fletcher, Robbie Bacon, Brian Ollerenshaw, John Burnett and Ian Ollerenshaw. In the front row is Mick Fisher, Malcolm Edge, David Cooper, Jeff Twyford, Stevie Rach, Eddie Shimwell and Royce Shimwell,

The photo was submitted by Michael Fisher, who pointed out that Sam Broomhead and John Repton–Redman were missing from it.