DERBYSHIRE: Another 93 villages to have street lights off in early hours

editorial image

STREET lights in 93 more Derbyshire parishes could be switched off during the early hours to save cash and energy, including dozens in the Dales.

A report to Derbyshire County Council next Tuesday recommends the second phase of its ‘part night’ lighting scheme is approved.

Last year 59 towns and parishes were introduced to the project, where street lights are turned off between midnight and 5.30am, despite fears about it causing more crime and anti-social behaviour.

The parishes which could now be affected across North East Derbyshire, the Derbyshire Dales, Amber Valley and the High Peak would see changes come into force by April 2014.

The report to the council’s highways and transport committee said an assessment over seven locations which already had part night lighting had seen ‘very little change’ in crime or trouble.

It added: “In some areas, crime and anti-social behaviour calls have fallen and, in others that have experience an increase, the actual change has generally been very small and unlikely to be linked to the Part Night Lighting schemes.

“As there has been very little change in relation to crime and anti-social behaviour within the part night lit areas, there does not appear to be any concrete evidence to suggest that the schemes should not continue.”

The data from the seven locations covered six months, the report added, and will continue to be monitored.

When complete part night lighting is expected to save 2,000 tonnes of carbon a year and £400.000 in energy costs.

Some 900 street lights deemed to not be ‘providing an effective community benefit’ in non residential areas are also to be switched off.

WHAT DO YOU THINK? Email us at


he parishes affected are below.


Boylestone, Cubley, Doveridge, Edlaston and Wyaston, Marston Montgomery, Sudbury, Yeaveley, Biggin, Brailsford, Hulland, Kirk Ireton, Stoney Middleton, Wardlow, Ashbourne, Ballidon, Bonsall, Bradbourne, Kniveton, Middleton, Offcote and Underwood, Osmaston, Rowland, Winster, Wirksworth, Darley Dale, Northwood and Tinkersley,


Brackenfield, Barlow, Brampton, Holymoorside and Walton, Unstone, Shirland and Higham, Streeton, Wessington,


Alderwasley, Hazelwood, Kirk Langley, Mackworth, Shottle and Postern, Turnditch, Weston Underwood, Mapperley, Crich, Pentrich, South Wingfield, Holsbrook, Horsley, Horsley Woodhouse, Kilburn.


Aston, Brough and Shatton, Charlesworth, Chinley, Buxworth and Brownside, Chisworth, Derwent, Thornhill, Tintwistle, Wormhill.


Stanley and Stanley Common, Morley