Derbyshire County Council election candidates announced

Breaking news
Breaking news

The names and parties of candidates standing in next month’s county council have been published today.

The election – which will be held on Thursday, May 2 – will determine which councillors will serve Derbyshire County Council for the next four years.

The Derbyshire Dales has six electoral divisions and below is a list of all the candidates contesting them.

Matlock division:

Tilly Sanders Ward, of Matlock, UK Independence Party

Geoff Stevens, of Matlock, Conservative Party.

Steve Flitter, of Matlock, Liberal Democrats.

Andy Botham, of Matlock, Labour Party.

Wirksworth division:

Richard Bright, of Hognaston, Conservative Party.

David Jones, of Matlock, Liberal Democrats.

Irene Ratcliffe, of Wirksworth, Labour Party.

Christopher Spencer, of Wirksworth, Green Party.

Chris Wardle, of Wirksworth, UK Independence Party.

Ashbourne division:

Rebecca Goodall, of Ashbourne, Liberal Democrats.

Matthew Gareth Jones, of Ripley, Labour Party.

Andrew Iain Lewer, of Hopton, Conservative Party.

Leonie Staimar, of Swanwick, UK Independence Party.

Bakewell division:

David Hill, of Dronfield,Labour Party.

Eleanor Nancolas, of Eyam, Liberal Democrats.

Philip Robinson, of Baslow, UK Independence Party.

Judith Anne Twigg, of Bakewell, Conservative Party.

Derwent Valley Division

Sandra Fearn, of Darley Dale, Liberal Democrats.

Michael Hancocks, of Two Dales, UK Independence Party.

Michael Vernon Longden, of Baslow, Conservative Party.

Paul Vaughan, of Matlock, Labour Party.

Dovedale Division

Trish Birchley, of Eyam, Liberal Democrats.

Sarah Elizabeth King, of Bakewell, UK Independence Party.

Simon Andrew Spencer, of Ashbourne, Conservative Party.

Colin Swindell, of Elton, Labour Party.

John Robin Youatt, of Youlgrave, Green Party.