Derwent Valley by-election tomorrow

editorial image

Polling stations opened this morning in the Derbyshire County Council Derwent Valley division by-election.

From 7am to 10pm voters have the chance to have their say in the by-election for the council’s division covering Calver, Stoney Middleton, Curbar, Baslow, Pilsley, Edensor, Beeley, Rowsley, Darley Dale, Stanton Lees, Birchover, Stanton-in-the-Peak and South Darley.

Four candidates are in the running after the death early this year of Derwent Valley Councillor Mike Longden.

In the race are Michael Bryan Crapper (Liberal Democrat), Mike Dawson (UKIP), Martin Joseph Rutter (Labour) and Jo Wild (Conservative).

Polling stations stay open until 10pm and the count will take place at Matlock Town Hall soon after polling stations close, and a result is anticipated in the early hours of Friday morning.