Champions head up star-studded Monsal climb

Pictured is a rider battling it out at the top of the 2012 Monsal Hill Climb.
Pictured is a rider battling it out at the top of the 2012 Monsal Hill Climb.

The 83rd running of this hill climb cycle classic, organised by Marc Etches and Sheffrec CC has the best field ever with both the men’s and ladies’ National Champions on the start sheet.

National Mens Hill Climb Champion and defending Monsal Champion, Jack Pullar, of Madison Genesis, leads the charge with Lynn Hamel, of Herbalife-Leisure, looking to take the Monsal title from Jessie Walker, of Matrix Fitness Racing Academy.

The men’s field is a mix of pro riders and local big guns all in search of a slice from the £1,350.00 prize fund.

Russell Downing, of Net App Endura, is looking to stop Jack Pullar’s winning streak of 11 straight hill climb wins.

Russell has longed to break the one minute 14.2 second course record set by Malcolm Elliott in 1981 and will again be trying to become the master of Monsal and claim the Dick Aldridge Memorial Trophy.

The Net App rider came close in 2003 with 1:18.3 when he rode for Life Repair.

Downing won’t have it all his own way as Pullar posted a 1:18.9 last year and claimed a well deserved win in front of huge crowds.

Can the Madison Genesis rider do the same from 11am, this Sunday, October 6, or even beat the record? He’ll certainly be up there that’s for sure.

Graham Briggs, of Rapha Condor CC, is fresh from winning at Pea Royd Lane on Sunday and is showing excellent form so he will be in with a big shout for a place on the podium.

Local hill climb specialist Lee Baldwin, of Buxton CC / Sett Valley Cycles, finished second to Briggs at the Stocksbridge CC event, and always posts a fast time up the 675 yard climb and is hoping to repeat his good run of form.

Team Hope Factory rider, James Gullen is on the start sheet and could spring a surprise along with local favourites including James Allen, of Langsett Cycles RT, and current Monsal Junior champion Jacob Scott, Team Sportscover and ex junior champion Ashley Proctor, of Sheffrec CC, are all looking to break the 1:30 barrier.

The vets’ race is also looking very competitive. Defending Vets’ Champion Michael Brammall, of Sugarcane Velo Club, is looking to keep his name on the Cope Trophy but will be pushed hard by first year vet Richard Middlemiss.

The Sheffield Sports rider is looking to win the vet prize to give him a quartet of titles at Monsal.

Middlemiss who has won at Schoolboy, Junior and Senior level just needs the Vets’ title to become the most successful rider at the 83 year old event. Previous Monsal winner, now vet Chris Walker, of RST Racing Team, is looking to rejuvenate the past and find the form to give him a win in his category.

Chris miss-timed his run last year and left too much in the tank at the top. He is more than capable of walking away with the silverware.

The whole field is a great mix of youngsters, ladies and seniors with many local clubs represented.

Writer of 100 Greatest Climbs, Simon Warren, of Norwood Paragon CC, is again at Monsal and knows the climb well having written about the famous climb in his much publicised books.

First run in 1930, Monsal Hill Climb has been on the hill climb calendar for an amazing 83 years.

This event was first started by a few mates riding out to Monsal Head at the end of the track season and timing each other up the hill, at this time it was an unmade road. How times have changed. This year again sees the road closure in place with around 300-400 spectators expected to the Peak District beauty spot.

Spectators are urged to use the car park provided and arrive early to witness the action unfold. Parking will be signposted and very close to the event HQ.

Event organiser, Marc Etches of Sheffrec Cycling Club, would like to thank James Glover at Simplyhealth, Derbyshire Times, Neil Armitage at Pelican Cycles, Derbyshire Dales District Council, Litton & Cressbrook Parish Council, Keith Adamson and Little Longstone Village Group, Derbyshire Police and Hobb’s Café. Without their help this event just simply wouldn’t happen.

Action kicks off at 11am at Monsal Head. Live commentary from ex-Olympian Mark Barry along with Brent Storey will provide a great atmosphere for all cycling fans. As always record holder since 1981 Malcolm Elliott will be presenting the prizes to all categories shortly after 1.15pm.

For coverage of this year’s event see the Thursday, October 10 edition, of the Derbyshire Times and visit for details.

Below is the 2013 Monsal Hill Climb list of entered riders:

Ivan Paul, Ashley Touring CC

Jonathan Poole, Ashley Touring CC

Luke Thomas, Ashley Touring CC

Michael Cox, Ashley Touring CC

Theo Jefferies, Ashley Touring CC

Cian O’Leary, Base2Race Bikeshack

Andrew Cutts, Birdwell Wheelers

Michael Brown, Birdwell Wheelers

Trevor Mayne, Birdwell Wheelers

Dave Archer, Bolsover & District CC

James Clarke, Bolsover & District CC

Patrick Murphy, Bolsover & District CC

Richard Thorpe, Bolsover & District CC

Wayne Rollinson, Bolsover & District CC

Xavier Scott, Bolsover & District CC

Lee Baldwin, Buxton CC / Sett Valley Cycles

Sam Clark, Buxton CC / Sett Valley Cycles

Sam Mansfield, Buxton CC / Sett Valley Cycles

Samuel Garner, Buxton CC / Sett Valley Cycles

Nicola Soden, Champion Systems Maxgear

Jamie Flaxman. Chesterfield Spire RC

Shue Fan, Clay Cross RT

Nick Decker, Congleton CC

Sidney Wilson, Derby Mercury RC

Stephen Price, Derby Mercury RC

Simon Froberg, Dinnington RC

Robin McKinnon, Harworth & District CC

Lynn Hamel, Herbalife-Leisure

Jim Brown. Holme Valley Wheelers

Lee Brown, Holme Valley Wheelers

Brad Dransfield, KCA

Carl Sawyer, Kiveton Park CC

Andrew Roberts, La Squadra

Ben Lowe, La Squadra

Luke Milnes, La Squadra

Paul Winwood, La Squadra

Andrew Sedgewick, Langsett Cycles RT

James Allen, Langsett Cycles RT

Jamie Burgan, Langsett Cycles RT

Jack Pullar, Madison Genesis

Daniel Trainor, Mansfield RC

Jake Carlisle, Mansfield RC

Scott Harrison, Mansfield RC

Tom Llewellyn, Mansfield RC

Vincent Johnson, Mansfield RC

Cameron Orr, Matlock CC

Neil Armitage, Matlock CC

Patrick Smart, Matlock CC

Peter Colledge, Matlock CC

Steve Roper, Matlock CC

William Alves, Matlock CC

Jessie Walker, Matrix Fitness Racing Academy

Jacob Nicholson, Medway VC

Andy Nichols, Neon

Russell Downing, Net App Endura

Andrew Rodgers, Norton Wheelers

Jonathan Cooper, Norton Wheelers

Simon Warren, Norwood Paragon CC

Alex Kinderman, Pedal Sport CC

Shaun Randall, Rossington Wheelers

Chris Walker, RST Racing Team

Alain Gordon-Seymour, Rutland CC

Ben Harvey, Rutland CC

Darren Otter, Rutland CC

Mike Birkby, Rutland CC

Nicholas Latimer, Rutland CC

Paul Kippax, Rutland CC

Robert Fowler, Rutland CC

Rupert Pearson, Rutland CC

Gavin Evans, Rutland CC

Eamonn Cox, Sheffield Sports CC

Louis Jacobs, Sheffield Sports CC

Richard Middlemiss, Sheffield Sports CC

Aaron Handley, Sheffrec CC

Adam Machan, Sheffrec CC

Alan Holloway, Sheffrec CC

Ashley Proctor, Sheffrec CC

Callum Stewart, Sheffrec CC

Clara Sandelind, Sheffrec CC

Daryl May, Sheffrec CC

James Hunt, Sheffrec CC

Keith Ainsworth, Sheffrec CC

Liam O’Toole, Sheffrec CC

Mark Cuckson, Sheffrec CC

Matt Bacon, Sheffrec CC

Mayor Ranchordas, Sheffrec CC

Nick Downham, Sheffrec CC

Stephen Carley, Sheffrec CC

Thomas Archer, Sheffrec CC

Thomas Humphrey, Sheffrec CC

Melanie Armstrong, Shutt VR

Oliver Humphreys, Shutt VR

Sarah Kennedy, Shutt VR / Squadra Donne

Matthew Cosgrove, Sportcity Velo

Jacob Scott, Sportscover

Steve Wood, Stocksbridge CC

Michael Brammall, Sugarcane Velo Club

Graham Briggs, TBC

Alex Jones, Team CF

James King, Team Sportscover

Martyn Dransfield, Thurcroft CC

Joseph Drane, University of Sheffield CC

Liz Bullivant, Whirlow Wheelers

Nicola Holloway, Whirlow Wheelers

Christiaan Smith, Zappis CC

Adam Kenway, Zenith - Buzz Cycles

David Swingler, Zenith - Buzz Cycles