Inspirational youngsters honoured at Young Achiever Awards

Anna Thmpson of Matlock is presented with her Young Achiever Award.
Anna Thmpson of Matlock is presented with her Young Achiever Award.

Inspirational youngsters were honoured at an annual awards ceremony.

Matlock girls Anna Thompson and Izzy and Millie Bunting were among the youngsters presented with Derbyshire Young Achiever Awards.

Sisters Izzy and Millie Bunting are presented with their awards.

Sisters Izzy and Millie Bunting are presented with their awards.

Anna was commended for her courage in battling childhood leukaemia and fundraising for good causes.

The 11-year-old still undergoes treatment for health complications resulting from chemotherapy.

Her proud parents Mark and Kathryn nominated her saying she is a “wonderful, thoughtful and caring person who has twice raised money for other causes through her own fund-raising ideas.”

Ten-year-old Izzy and her sister Millie, who’s eight, also picked up awards for their work to improve the environment and highlighting environmental issues.

Izzy and Millie were nominated by their proud parents Richard and Penny.

The sisters helped plant hundreds of broadleaved and fruit trees in their home town, including at home and at school, created an eco garden at All Saints’ Infants, provided habitats for wildlife, with bee and butterfly gardens and attended events at Derbyshire Eco Centre and Northwood Household Waste Recycling Centre.

The All Saints’ Junior School pupils have also dressed up as bees and polar bears to promote events organised by environmental project Little Green Space and community eco group Transition Matlock.

In total 78 young people – aged four to 17 – and two groups, received awards during the ceremony held at Highfields School in Matlock on Friday, December 9.

The event hosted by Derbyshire County Council saw the young person nominated because they had shown bravery, kindness, a commitment to improving their school, community or local environment or sporting, musical, artistic or academic success.

Former Blue Peter presenter Andy Akinwolere handed out the awards along with chairman of the council George Wharmby.

Guests were welcomed to the celebrations by a speech from council leader Andrew Lewer.

Cllr Lewer said: “We know that young people have a lot to give.

“The majority of young people are doing good things in our schools, homes and communities. Unfortunately we do not get to hear enough about them – which is why we think it is important to recognise the outstanding achievements of these incredible young people.”

The winners are:

Adam Coomber – Simmondley, Glossop

Adam Fern – Hady, Chesterfield

Alan Glover – Chesterfield

Alex Foster – Ilkeston

Alice Hawkes – Stretton

Andrew Brown – Long Eaton

Anna Thompson – Matlock

Archie Bell – Bamford, Hope Valley

Ashleigh Galley – Whaley Bridge

Bethany Davies – Riddings

Bradley Wilson Hunt – Shirland, Alfreton

Bradley-James Jones – Grassmoor, Chesterfield

Brandon Wilson – Holmgate, Chesterfield

Callum Baker – Duckmanton

Callum Faulkner-Richards – Etwall

Caroline Martin – Chesterfield

Chloe Chamberlain – Church Gresley

Chloe Guest – Kirk Hallam Chloe Lea – Ashbourne

Dahnon Ward – Kirk Hallam

Danielle Blinco – Buxton

David Voorheis – Buxton

Edward Holmes – Ripley

Ella Morgan – Heanor

Ellicia Price – Tupton

Ellie Dickens – Inkersall

Elliot Smith – Dronfield

Emily Noble – Long Eaton

Emma King – Belper

Genevieve Gilbert – Edale, Hope Valley

George Marriott – Wingerworth

Griogair Malcolm – Long Eaton

Hannah Davies-Jones – New Mills

Harry Hume – Long Eaton

Imogen Jesson – Melbourne

Izzy Bunting – Matlock

Jack Butterworth – Derby

Jacob Handley – Hady, Chesterfield

Jake Burgin – Somercotes

Jake Edmiston – Curbar, Hope Valley

Jake Musson – Ilkeston

James Barker – Hadfield, Glossop

James Cheung – Tibshelf

Jodie Clarke – Clowne, Chesterfield

Joseph Holman – Yorkshire Bridge, Hope Valley

Kian Crane-White – Hasland, Chesterfield

Kieran Chamberlain – Church Gresley

Lauren Thompson – Swadlincote

Laurisa Robson – Bolsover

Lucyann Lee – Church Gresley

Luke Smith – Mickleover

Lydia Thacker – Long Eaton

Macauley Quinney – Whaley Bridge

Mason Bennett – Langwith

Mattie Shevloff – Hady, Chesterfield

Megan Tinsley – Chesterfield

Millie Bunting – Matlock

Millie Jones – Grassmoor, Chesterfield

Molly Baker-Hunt – Staveley

Oscar Jepson – Hathersage, Hope Valley

Nicholas Holt – Chesterfield

Rebecca Weeks – Chesterfield

Robert Bock – Jacksdale

Robert Roe – Inkersall, Chesterfield

Ronan Fowkes – Heanor

Rory Mackenzie – Bradwell

Ryan Pace – Belper

Samuel Green – Linton, Swadlincote

Savannah Williams – Hilton

Shannon-Kate Thomson – Whaley Bridge

Sheree Banner – Somercotes

Sophie Littlewood – Mastin Moor, Chesterfield

Theo Singh-Eyley – New Tupton, Chesterfield

Thilina Prathapasin – New Mills

William Cheaney – Coton-In-The-Elms

William Pearson – Hilton Yelda Eade – Hope, High Peak


Fairfield Dreamscheme – Buxton

1211 (Swadlincote and District) Squadron ATC – Swadlincote