Park authority leader re-elected

High Peak Borough Councillor Tony Favell was re-elected chair of the Peak District National Park Authority at its annual meeting on Friday, July 1.

Tony has lived in Edale for 41 years and is a well-known figure, having founded a solicitors’ practice and building society agency in Hathersage and held community roles including President of Hope Show and President of the Longshaw Sheep Dog Trials Association.

Tony said: “I am keen to encourage authority members to work more closely with local communities and improve communications particularly over issues such as planning and 4x4s in the countryside.”

Tony joined the authority in May 2007 and became deputy chair in June 2010, before being elected chair in March following the retirement of Narendra Bajaria.

The Authority re-elected Geoff Nickolds as its deputy chair. He is the member representative for access and recreation and chair of the Moors for the Future Partnership.

The Authority also elected new committee leaders:

Chair of planning is John Herbert, a parish representative from Sheldon. Vice-chair is Paul Ancell, appointed by the Secretary of State.

Chair of audit, resources and performance is Christopher Pennell, appointed by the Secretary of State. Vice-chair is Derbyshire County councillor Garry Purdy, from Matlock.

The Authority welcomed eight new members, all local councillors: David Chapman and Janet Goodison, Derbyshire Dales District Council; Godfrey Claff, High Peak Borough Council; Peter Raynes, Cheshire East Borough Council; Harold Laws, NE Derbyshire District Council; Janet Bragg, Sheffield City Council; Christopher Furness, Bradwell Parish Council; Andrew McCloy, Youlgrave Parish Council.