VIDEO - Count opens in Derbyshire Dales

Derbyshire Dales count,
Derbyshire Dales count,

Counting has begun in the Conservative stronghold of the Derbyshire Dales - with polls suggesting that Tory big-hitter Patrick McLoughlin will retain his seat.

McLoughlin won the seat in 2010 with more than 52 per cent of the vote and previously represented the now defunct seat of West Derbyshire.

Early exit polls suggested the Conservatives are due to win the most seats with Labour losing ground on 2010, and pollsters now predicting another five years of Tory rule.

Other candidates include Andy Botham (Labour), Ben Fearn (Lib Dems), Ian Wood (Greens), John Young (UKIP) and Amila Y’Mech (Humanity)