Ashford put seal on Division Two title

Yorkshire & Derbyshire League

The final league game of the year saw Ashford-in-the-Water complete a fantastic season with promotion as Division Two Champions for the first time in their long history.

Opting to bowl first at the HSBC ground in Dore against Weston Park, the Ashford attack found a spiteful batting track and openers Ravi Ivaturi (10) and Tathagata Das (19) appeared to have negotiated the new ball until Adam Yarwood struck twice in short succession with well-held catches.

Captain Peter Marsden (2-16) then dismissed successive batsmen with unplayable lifting deliveries caught behind by keeper Simon Davies. Indeed, the excellent out fielding was a feature of the innings as eight of the wickets fell to catches, gully specialist Ben Drury taking three of them and Cameron Higginbottom two.

Yarwood finished the season on a high with 5-25, assisted by Kevin Rowney (2-7), bringing the Weston Park innings to a close on a sorry score of 76 all out.

Despite their jubilation Ashford knew that run scoring wasn’t going to be easy, but Davies set about the task, cutting and pulling his way to an entertaining 18 before Higginbottom and Joe Muir settled in to play more orthodox cricket.

The score progressed to 55 before Muir (11) was caught off the bowling of Avneesh Dogra (2-19), but Higginbottom remained calm with a classy innings of 25.

It took 38 overs to reach the target but Yarwood hit the final boundary of the season to see Ashford home and allow the celebrations to begin.