Dales duo Czech out as Matlock riders take top league honours

Matlock CC rider Ben Mellor won the U9s championship with a 100 per cent win record.
Matlock CC rider Ben Mellor won the U9s championship with a 100 per cent win record.

Last weekend saw the Cyclocross World Championships held at Tabor in the Czech Republic and representing Great Britain in the junior race were Derbyshire Dales duo Arthur Green and Will Gascoyne.

Both rode well in the frozen muddy conditions with Gascoyne producing a fine performance to finish 14th and first GB rider.

Matlock Cycling Club rider Green suffered a crash at the start which meant he began the race from last place but fought his way through the field to finish 28th.

Another Notts and Derbys Cyclocross League regular, Josh Waters, was 32nd and Alfie Moses just behind him in 35th.

This week also saw the final results from the Notts and Derbys Cyclocross League published with Matlock riders featuring highly.

In the under-9s category, Ben Mellor won the league in fine style with a 100 per cent victory record, whilst clubmate Oscar Atkinson was third and Tom Woolf in seventh, meaning Matlock CC took the U9s team trophy.

In the under-12s category, meanwhile, Libby Smith took the girls league win and with Harry Large fifth and Sam Gould 13th, Matlock CC took the bronze position overall in the team trophy.

The under-14 girls league saw Ellie Smith (Fossa Racing) take the title ahead of Amelie Wayte (Zepnat RT) and Sarah Briggs (Matlock CC) and Nick Edwards claim fifth place in the boys’ competition.

In the under-16 boys Matlock CC’s John Webster was third which meant Matlock CC took the bronze team prize overall.

In the Veterans league Chris Green took silver in the V45s and with clubmates Andrew Briggs and Dominic Wibberley, Matlock CC secured second place in the team trophy.

Chris Watts took silver in the V50s section and with the help of clubmates Martin Stocks and Jonathan Edwards, Matlock CC were the third-placed team.

Arthur Green took the Junior League title, while in the Women’s Veteran League Mariane Heffron of Darley Dale-based Zepnat RT was second and Matlock CC’s Louise Wainwright third.

With many Matlock Cycling Club riders taking part throughout the season, the club finished second overall in the participation trophy.

This coming Sunday will see the Matlock Cycling Club prize presentation evening take place, recognising the achievements of its members during the last year.