Ffyona continues fine start to the season with Cannock win

Ffyona Booker is pictured in top spot after winning at Cannock Chase.
Ffyona Booker is pictured in top spot after winning at Cannock Chase.

Some of Matlock Cycling Club’s mountain bike riders took part in the first round of this year’s Midlands XC Series on Sunday.

Cannock Chase was the host venue, with the popular course being a good test for the riders with lots of technical sections, made more difficult due to the muddy conditions.

There was once again considerable success in the various age categories for Matlock CC riders.

Ffyona Booker has had a great start to the season, and it got better as she took a fine win in the Juvenile U14 Girls category.

Booker proved the strongest and technically the best as she made light work of the course to take a superb solo victory.

Older brother Gregg also performed well and was only edged out of the win by his clubmate Will Gascoyne, as the pair recorded a superb one-two for Matlock CyclingClub in the Youth U16s category to take the top two spots on the podium.

In the Juvenile U14s category, Matlock CC’s Cameron Orr had a great race, managing to finish on the podium, coming third overall.

l Matlock Cycling Club’s time-trial series resumed on Sunday, following last week’s cancelled event due to the snow.

This week saw the riders tackle the hilly Winster Circuit.

The course is approximately ten miles in length, but has lots of climbing making it a real challenge.

Chris Green continued his great start to the season, as he took a very narrow win over archrival Peter Colledge.

Green clocked a time of 26 minutes and 22 seconds – edging out Colledge by just threeseconds.

Green was well up on Colledge after the main climb, and although Colledge managed to claw back some time on the descent down from Winster to Darley Bridge, he couldn’t quite overturn the deficit.

Leigh Fearn was a comfortable third, clocking 27 minutes and 37 seconds.

Results: 1 Chris Green 26:22, 2 Peter Colledge 26:25, 3 Leigh Fearn 27:37, 4 Andy Woolf 29:15, 5 John Johnston 29:51, 6 Patrick Smart 30:13, 7 Josh Eaton 33:43, 8 Kyle Fantom 34:46, 9 Andrew Marshall 39:23, 10 Mike Blair DNF