Awards round off a busy campaign

Share this article

THE Matlock and District Football League’s successful 2011-2012 campaign came to an end at the weekend with the end-of-season awards evening at Shirland Miners Welfare.

This season saw the league grow and expand into two divisions. New sides who were welcomed included Hopflower FC, Chesterfield Town FC and Hurst Farm United.

After a long and drawn out season, this year’s awards went to the following teams:

n Division One winners: Hopflower

n Runner-up: Shirebrook Rangers

n Division Two: Codnor Miners Arms FC

n Runner-up: Matlock Sports (Reserves)

n Cavendish Cup winners: Chesterfield Town

n Runner-up: Hopflower

n Manor Pharmacy Shield winners: Chesterfield Town FC

n Runner-up: Shirebrook Rangers

n Derbyshire Cup winners: Hopflower

n Runner-up: Woodthorpe

n Invitation Shield winners: Hurst Farm United

n Runner-up: Wirksworth Albion

n Matlock Cup winners: Riddings Rovers

n Runner-up: Hurst Farm United

The referee of the year award, voted by all the teams over the whole season, went to Simon Owen for his fantastic contribution and refereeing skills.

The golden boot award for the Hellison Trophies League One went to Hopflower’s Adrian Ordidge with 36 goals and the Solar Press League Two award went to South Wingfield’s Jay Miles with 33 goals.

The player of the year award went Laburnum Saints’ Steve Prime for League One with Darrel Webster of Hurst Farm United winning the award for League Two.

Secretary of the year went to Laburnum Saints’ Rhia Dilloway for all the hard work put in during the season.

The league would like to thank the clubs, sponsors, and most of all, the supporters for making this one of the best seasons in the Matlock and Distict Football League’s history.

If you want to be a part of this thriving set-up next season, either by joining League One or League Two, phone secretary and treasurer Jim Else on 01773 833945 or contact him by email at