Matlock’s fine run comes to a halt at Whitby

Matlock Town at Whitby (Pic: Steven Greenhough)
Matlock Town at Whitby (Pic: Steven Greenhough)

Matlock suffered their first league defeat since 24th September at Whitby Town.

Dale Hopson’s 11th goal of the season saw the points stay at the seaside.

Both teams provided fans with an entertaining game on a gloomy, wild North Yorkshire afternoon as a baltic swirling wind made it difficult for the players.

Both teams had a leading light suspended, captain Adam Yates replaced by Nico de Girolamo in defence while midfield playmaker Steven Snaith was missing for the Seasiders.

Matlock included latest signing, EX Burton Albion man Kevin Grocott on the bench.

Whitby had a sniff of goal in only the third minute as Mikey Roberts broke through from the left but his 20 yard shot passed harmlessly past Phil Barnes’ left hand post.

Matlock came closest to the opener when Niall McManus teased full-back Danny McWilliams to cut in and force home goalkeeper Shane Bland into an outstanding finger tip save.

McManus tried his luck in similar circumstances but a deflection took the sting out of his shot and Bland saved comfortably.

Matlock made a positive start to the second period with Curtis Morrison firing narrowly too high and Michael Williams following him from 30 yards.

Whitby though might have gone in front when Matty Tymon’s glancing header from a Hopson cross on the left had Barnes diving at full stretch to claw the ball around the post.

Matlock replied almost straightaway as Ted Cribley hoisted a shot from 25 yards that had Bland backpedalling to tip the ball over, before saving again from Cribley from the resulting corner.

The wind intensified as hail stones lashed down and the forecast became bleak for Matlock when Hopson put Whitby ahead, sidefooting home a McWilliams cross from the left.

Morrison twice struck the post, he and de Girolamo also headed wide and McManus skied a 15 yarder – it just wasn’t to be Matlock Town’s day.

Matlock: Barnes, Marsden, Green, Doyle-Charles, de Girolamo, Wiley, McManus, Williams, Morrison, Dinanga ( Newsham 68), Cribley. Other subs: Pursehouse, Yates, Grocott, Travis.