Gratton and Holmes take honours

Jimmy Gratton (left) and Ben Monk did battle in the OMYA Cup clash at Marehay Miners Welfare.
Jimmy Gratton (left) and Ben Monk did battle in the OMYA Cup clash at Marehay Miners Welfare.

THE first two individual finals of the Darley Dale & District League season took place last week, with firstly Ben Monk taking on Jaxx player Jimmy Gratton in an OMYA Cup clash played at Marehay Miners Welfare.

Gratton was out of the blocks the fastest with a 22 break putting him into the lead, but Monk struck back quickly with 38 before the Jaxx man chiselled his way back into the frame to eventually take it on the blue.

Monk came back strongly to take the next, 81-18, but this inspired Gratton to go 2-1 up in the next with the aid of a 57 break.

The next saw Monk knock in 37 but after Monk missed a routine pink for the frame, Gratton stepped in to snatch it.

That was probably the turning point and Gratton pressed the accelerator again in the next to see off one last challenge to take the match 4-1.

Meanwhile, the B Individual Handicap competition was won by Kevin Holmes, also of Jaxx, who defeated Martin Forster at Bolehill No 2 3-0.

Elsewhere it was semi-final time in the Jaeger Trophy Champion of Champions team event and Edgefold Club, fresh from outsting No 1 seeds Marehay the previous week, repeated the dose against No 2 seeds Bolehill No 1.

Andrew Brough got the visitors off to a flying start, but Rob Muxlow and Duncan Harwood enjoyed wide margin victories before Jason Ankers put the game beyond reach as they eventually ran out 4-1 victors.

Belper Strutt Club No 1 also ran out convincing winners against Gladiators SC, with Mark Newby, Steve Bullock and Justin Weller all on the mark en route to the final with a 5-0 success.