Lomas takes under-16 crown in mountain bike challenge

Chris Green performed well in Matlock Cycling Club time trials.
Chris Green performed well in Matlock Cycling Club time trials.

The fifth round of this year’s British National XC Mountain Bike Series took place on Sunday at the Hadleigh Farm venue in Essex.

Once again, Matlock Cycling Clubs youngsters shone brightly with some impressive performances.

In the Juvenile U14s category, Cameron Orr and Ffyona Booker placed fifth in their respective boys and girl’s categories.

It was Sarah Lomas who had the ride of the day. Riding for the Scott Contessa Epic Race Team, Lomas was the comfortable winner in the Youth U16 Female category, putting almost a minute into second-placed rider Ffion James of Abergavenny Road Club.

In the Youth U16s category, Matlock’s Arthur Green and Gregg Booker both placed in the top 15 of a large and talented field, Green taking seventh overall and Booker 14th.

The previous week saw the fourth and final round of the Midlands XC Mountain Bike Series, held at Eastridge Woods in Shropshire.

Matlock Cycling Club once again had some excellent overall placings in the series.

Will Gascoyne won the Youth U16s category, with team mate Gregg Booker in second place.

Arthur Green, also in the Youth U16s category, was sixth, having only taken part in two of the four rounds where the riders’ top three rides count to their final points total.

Ffyona Booker was the comfortable winner of the Juvenile U14s female category, with Derby Mercury’s Isabelle Boon coming second.

Meanwhile in the boys juvenile category, Cameron Orr finished a solid fourth place overall, as did Ellie Smith in the girls U13s category, with Orr’s younger brother taking eighth place in the boys U13s.

Meanwhile, Matlock Cycling Club’s five-mile Ashford time-trial was contested by 16 riders on in dry conditions, with a favourable wind, meaning many riders were able to set seasons best times.

Keiron Tennyson took a fine win, going under 11 minutes to record a time of 10:52.

Second place went to Chris Green, just one second back, on 10:53, which was good enough for Green to set a new veteran’s course record time.

Third place went to Mike Blair, who narrowly missed out on breaking the magical 11-minute barrier, finishing on 11:03.

Elisha McDonagh was the fastest female rider, recording a season’s best time of 13:27 to finish in 10th place overall.

Thursday night’s 5.3-mile Short Hilly time trial also had a favourable south westerly wind, helping the riders as they make the considerable ascent up from Cromford up through Lea towards Dethick.

Chris Green took a second consecutive victory on the course as he recorded a time of 15 minutes and 15 seconds – averaging almost 21mph.

Kevin White was second behind Green with a time of 15:33, whilst John Johnston took third spot on 16:05.

Cheryl Henshaw was the fastest female rider, clocking a time of 19:20 to finish in eighth place overall.