Matlock overhaul Derby to claim inter-club time trial

Louis Swindell earned a fine victory in the under-8 category at Darley Moor.
Louis Swindell earned a fine victory in the under-8 category at Darley Moor.

Tuesday night saw the return leg of the Inter-Club time-trial between Matlock Cycling Club and Derby Mercury.

Mercury had taken a considerable lead from the home leg on their Windley Course, fielding many more riders than Matlock had.

No fewer than 47 riders took part on a glorious evening, showing the strength of the two clubs, to take on Matlock’s ten-mile course running along the A6 between Darley Dale and Bakewell.

Matlock’s Leigh Fearn upset the form book after a storming ride which saw him go under the 22 minute barrier for the first time on the course, recording a time of 21 minutes and 47 seconds – averaging a speed of just over 27.5mph.

Pre-race favourite Patrick Gould of Matlock CC came home in second place, 13 seconds further back on 22:00, whilst Dave Wallwin came third on 22:08.

Just one second separated Matlock’s Chris Green and Kevin White, as the pair finished on 22:25 and 22:26 to secure fourth and fifth positions.

The fastest Derby Mercury rider was Jon O-Brien, who came seventh overall in a time of 22 minutes and 36 seconds, with teammate Nick Cousins one place back with a time of 22:43.

Matlock’s lock-out at the top of the time sheet meant they overhauled Mercury’s first leg lead to take the 2013 Inter Club trophy.

After a spell of travelling up and down the country for national races, Matlock Cycling Club’s youth riders got back to the more familiar surroundings of the Darley Moor circuit near Ashbourne at the weekend.

 Benefiting from their recent experiences of national level competition, the Matlock riders looked very comfortable and put in some excellent performances. 

 In the U14 race, Cameron Orr was pipped on the line by Scott Hookway of Sherwood Pines after leading out a long sprint.

 Ellie Smith enjoyed her best sprint finish to date to claim third overall and second girl in the U12 event. Reuben Orr also rode well finishing in the leading bunch, while Libby Smith rode strongly in the U10 race to take first girl by half a lap and seventh place overall.

Team mate Louis Swindell took a superb victory in the U8 category.