Matlock runners out in force as busy schedule continues

Matlock Athletics Club


The Parwich Hill Race (3.5 miles) took place in slippery conditions but times were still impressive.

The winner was C Patterson in 18.04 and first lady K Busfield in 23.24. For MAC John Hurley was 13th in 22.58, Dennis Holmes 14th in 23.09 and Clive Russell claimed the Taymac Trophy for the oldest person in the race and was also third in the Slater Trophy for local runners.

The Hope Fell Race (9.5km/451m) took place over a slightly new route this year resulting in two new course records.

MAC’s Richard Bradbury was 32nd in 49.23. Full results at

The Winster Hill Race was part of the Winster Wakes and in MAC’s Senior and Junior GP.

Zak Hodgkinson claimed first place in 24.15 with 15-year-old Joe Hallas in hot pursuit in 24.37. Fourth was Colin Davenport in 25.11, 14th Alan Pickering 26.31, 20th Chris Hallas 2nd MV50, 27.20, 27th Christine Howard 2nd lady, 3rd LV40, 29.07, 30th John Webster 29.41, 33rd Martin Lea 30.13, Mick Moorhouse 34th, 1st MV60, 30.23, 38th Ted Phillips 31.01, 42nd Dennis Belbin 31.42, 48th Jim Thorneycroft 32.27, 55th Gavin Simmons 33.30, 56th Aidan Broadbent 33.31, 61st Steve Mead 33.49, 64th Sian Mead, 2nd FV50, 34.04, 65th Bronwyn Lessiter 1st junior girl 34.05, 66th Alison Pye 34.06, 82nd Jan Forrester 1st FV60 35.46, 90th Andrea Priestley, 37.20, 91st Steve Holt 37.29, 92nd Lillian Phillips 2nd Junior girl 37.54, 99th Jim Titterton 38.43, 100th Oliver Brown 39.00, 102nd Laura Broadbent 3rd Junior girl 39.05, 111th Emma Phillips 45.52.

July 4 saw the Colin Potter Memorial 10k took place through Darley Abbey and Darley Park. For MAC Christine Middleton finished in 1.03.12.

On Sunday, the venue was Holmebrook Park, Chesterfield for the Spire ten-mile road race.

For MAC Colin Davenport was fourth overall with Christine Howard 20th and first lady home. Also for MAC - 31st Jim Thorneycroft 73.19, 40th Martin Lea 74.39, 51st Dennis Belbin 76.52, 187th Julie Goodwin 100.42, 188th Polly Whittaker 100.44, 189th Tessa Whittaker 100.45

MAC’s Ben Cartwright missed out on the top spot by one second to Steve Franklin of Totley AC (27.11) in a dramatic finish at the Tideswell Fell Race. MAC’s Nick Harrison had a good run too, coming in 39th in 37.24.

In the 17th Great Bakewell Pudding Race, first Matlock AC finisher was Colin Davenport in a time of 41:00 and in seventh position. Peter Wilmot was 48th in 48:42 and Lindsay Allen in 65:20.

The Bakewell Pudding Fun Run is in the 2014 Matlock AC Junior Grand Prix schedule which enticed four intrepid youngsters to compete. First MAC runner home was Toby Gill in 18.28 in seventh followed by Bronwyn Lessiter, tenth in 19.31 and second female overall. Spencer Whittle was 13th in 19.45 and Rhys Lessiter 33rd in 25.03.