Matlock youngsters cycle well in Port Talbot challenge

Will Gascoyne finished third in the youth under-16s boys race in Wales at the weekend.
Will Gascoyne finished third in the youth under-16s boys race in Wales at the weekend.

The fourth round of this year’s British Cycling National Mountain Bike Cross Country Series took place at Margam Country Park in Port Talbot, Wales last weekend.

Glorious sunshine coupled with a twisty, technical circuit meant for some superb racing.

A few of Matlock Cycling Club’s top riders made the journey to take part in the event, which had attracted a top class field.

Ffyona Booker had an excellent race in the girls’ juvenile under-14 race, coming fifth overall. The race was won in dominant fashion by Emily Wadsworth of Beeline Bicycles.

In the youth under 16s boys race, Matlock’s Will Gascoyne took a fine podium place, finishing in third spot overall behind Thomas Craig of Scott UK and Mark McGuire of Team Bicycles.

In the same race, Arthur Green secured a top ten finish by finishing in sixth place overall, whilst his teammate Gregg Booker just missed out on the top ten by coming home 12th overall from the 44 starters.

Meanwhile, Matlock Cycling Club’s Thursday night 6.5-mile hilly time-trial saw a new course record set by a hugely impressive Leigh Fearn.

Fearn, who was riding the course for only the second time this season, smashed the 18-minute barrier, finishing in a time of 17 minutes and 42 seconds.

He was made to work hard for his win though by local Buzz Cycles rider Adam Kenway, who also went under the 18-minute barrier, coming home in second place on a time of 17 minutes and 58 seconds.

Chris Green, who is usually so dominant on this course, had to settle for third spot on this occasion, recording a time of 19 minutes and one second.

Patrick Gould, more noted for his powerful riding on the flat courses, put in a solid performance to finish in fourth place overall in a time of 19 minutes and 43 seconds.

Results: 1 Leigh Fearn 17:42, 2 Adam Kenway 17:58, 3 Chris Green 19:01, 4 Patrick Gould 19:43, 5 Cameron Orr 20:10, 6 Chris Sharp 21:53, 7 John White 25:32