Mellor among winners in National Trophy

The first round of the British Cycling Cyclo Cross National Trophy was held in Shrewsbury on Sunday.

A number of Matlock riders took part with Ben Mellor winning the Go-cross event, Libby Smith riding in the U12 girls, Amelie Wayte tenth and Sarah Briggs 11th in the U14 girls, Arthur Green 13th in the junior race, Marianne Heffron 12th in the Veteran ladies and Chris Green 38th and Chris Watts 50th in the Veteran men.

Meanwhile, local riders took part in the notoriously difficult Mam Nic Hill Climb on Saturday morning - organised and promoted by Rutland Cycling Club.

Held in cold, but sunny conditions, 50 riders took to the start line to take on the 2.1km climb with an average gradient of 10.1 per cent.

The event was won by Team Zenith rider Joe Clark in a quick time of six minutes and 37 seconds. Clark edged out last year’s winner Lee Baldwin of Champion Systems Race Team by nine seconds, with Baldwin finishing on 6:46.

Third place went to Team Zenith rider Stuart Marshall who also dipped under seven minutes, finishing in 6:54.

Matlock Cycling Club riders Steve Strange, Kevin White, Chris Statham and Patrick Smart all took part.

Strange recorded a time of seven minutes 36 seconds to finish in 13th place overall. Kevin White just dipped under eight minutes, finishing on seven minutes and 56 seconds. Patrick Smart finished in nine minutes and 12 seconds. Youngster Chris Statham put in a tremendous effort to finish second in the U18s category, recording a time of exactly eight minutes.

This coming Sunday (19th) sees the well supported Matlock CC hillclimb double header with local riders trying to set the fastest time up Riber Hill at 10am and Bank Road at 2pm.