Awards night for billiards players

Whitworth Billiards League presentations.
Whitworth Billiards League presentations.

THE annual Billiards League presentation evening has taken place at the Whitworth Centre in Darley Dale.

Major winners of trophies for the season were Jim McCann and Malcolm Gregory while the league championship title went to Mayfield M.I. No 2.

The full list of winners was:

Billards: League Winners – Mayfield M.I No 2, runners-up – Whitworth Institute

Highest break: Winner – J McCann, runner-up M Gregory

Highest aggregate: Winner – D Pownall, runner-up – M Jennings

Captains cup: Winners – Whitworth Institute, runners-up – Wallash

Pairs: Winners – J McCann/M Gregory, runners up – D Pownall/P Darby

Billiards/snooker – Winners – J McCann/M Gregory, runners-up – M Jennings/J Maslauskas

Williams Cup: Winner – J McCann, runner-up – D Pownall

The trophies were presented by Robert Barrington-Evans, owner of the Whitworth Hotel and entertainment was by Dave Grant.