Club’s double title success

Darley Dale Tennis Club ladies team. 2011
Darley Dale Tennis Club ladies team. 2011
Share this article

DARLEY Dale Tennis Club members are celebrating a double success for the mixed first and ladies teams in the Derby Tennis Leagues.

The Ladies won the third division Derby League title and have successfully gained promotion to the second division for the first time in their history. They were promoted along with second placed Ripley Ladies.

The winning team is made up of Trish Barrable, Anne Paxton, Clare Crofts, Debbie Winthrope, Rosie Strauss, Judith Jones (captain), Debbie Howe, Paula Hubber and Margaret Manning.

The mixed first team also secured the third division title and will be promoted with U.R.C. (United reformed church), who are based in Littleover, Derby.

The team is made up of Bob White, Judith Jones (captain), Trish Barrable, Tony Barrable, Debbie Winthrope, Rob Etherden, Matt Norton, Paula Hubber and Maurizio Ferrari.

While this was obviously a team effort, the club feels a lot of credit must go to Judith Jones, who is captain for both teams, for her time, effort and organising skills, without which the teams would not be where theyare now.

Darley Dale Tennis Club bases itself at the Starkholmes lower site of Highfields School and meets for club nights on Sunday mornings, Tuesday and Friday evenings.