CYCLING: Thoday takes silver at World Championships in Belgium

editorial image

Matlock CC’s Richard Thoday took the silver medal in the Penny Farthing World Championships held at Bruges on Sunday.

Thoday qualified for the Championships after winning the National Championship at Worthing earlier this year.

Round Two of the SRAM Notts and Derbys Cyclocross League took a trip to Alfreton this week, courtesy of Belper BC.

Conditions were relatively dry, and the fast, up-and-down course made for some exciting racing.

The Senior Mens race saw action right from the start, with Hope Factory Racing’s Jack Clarkson and Nick Barnes (Hargroves RT) leading a train that also included Sleaford Wheeler George Thompson and last year’s League winner, Jonathan Harper (Mansfield Road Club).

It was the last few metres that decided the victor, with Clarkson taking the win, despite a strong last effort from Barnes.

Third place was taken by Chris Metcalfe, rewarding his consistent laps throughout the race.

The Junior Mens race saw Joshua Waters (Sherwood Pines Cycles) and James Armstrong (VC Lincoln) repeat their first / second performance of last round, with Pedalsport’s Simeon Young taking third.

Local professional cyclocross star Nikki Harris swapped Las Vegas for Alfreton as her season opener, but elected to ride with the Senior Men.

The Women’s race was won with some style by Hope Factory Racing’s Annie Simpson, over two minutes ahead of her nearest rival, Laura Greenhaigh (Imperial RT).

Third Woman and first V40 was Bolsover’s Maddi Smith.

Second and third Veteran Women were Jane Roberts (Pines Cycles – Felt – Enve), and Derby Mercury’s Eve Roberts.

The Veteran race saw Ian Taylor deliver a strong performance to finish a minute ahead of Zepnat’s Daniel Alexander and Team WNT’s Rick Lister.

Current V50 National Champion Tim Gould (Zepnat) made light work of moving through the V40 field ahead of him, and finished two minutes ahead of Ellmore Factory Racing’s Graham Clark, with Cadence Sport’s Harvey Levann rounding out the top three. Matlock’s Chris Green was fifth.

The U14 Girls race saw Fossa Racing’s Libby Smith make a great start to her season with the win.

Derby Mercury’s Alice Crane and Nottingham Clarion’s Lotta Mansfield rounded out the top three.

Matlock’s Lizzie Webster was sixth.

Team Empellas Xan Crees stamped her authority on the U16 girls race, finishing a lap ahead of Maddie Hubner (Nottingham Clarion) and Derby Mercury’s Alice Warbrick with Matlock’s Ella Ingram fifth.

The U14 Boys race saw close racing throughout at the front with Alec Gregory (Leicestershire Road Club) and Lichfield CC’s Emile Alexander together throughout the race, with Gregory ultimately proving victorious.

Clifton CC’s Finlay Pickering took third.

Tom Dussek (Nottingham Clarion) and Pedalsport’s Jensen Young battled for victory at the front of the U16 Boys race, with Dussek ultimately capitalising on Young’s mechanical to take the victory.

Oliver Snodden (Sherwood Pines) rounded out the top three. Matlock’s Nick Edwards was eighth.

The U12 Boys top three was Christopher Hilbert (Pines Cycles – Felt – Enve), Matlock CC’s Sam Gould and Fred Shenton-McQueen (Beeston RC).

Matlock’s Ben Mellor put on a fine performance for seventh place having only just moved up to this age category this season.

The U12 Girls race saw Jessica Tiffany (Derby Mercury) take the top spot ahead of Bolsover’s Grace Fishleigh and Rutland CC’s Flo Lissaman. Matlock’s Harriet Limb was fifth and Annabel Parker seventh.

The U9 races saw Redditch’s Ryan Oldfield win the boys race and Matlock CC’s Freya Lester take the victory in the girls with Eleanor Gordon second for a Matlock 1-2. Matlock CC’s Charlie Ross was sixth and Tom Woolf ninth

Matlock Veteran Kevin White came 17th (2nd in the Vets 40-49 category) on the Cat & Fiddle Hill Climb in which Dame Sarah Storey set a new course record in the ladies event.

Steve Strange finished 14th in the Weaver Valley Hillclimb.