Cyclists impress at time trials

Matlock Cycling Club’s annual Winster Circuit Championship race was held on Thursday night.

The ten-mile course offers a wide variety of challenges to the riders with a flat section from Darley Dale up to Picory Corner, before winding its way up the steady climb towards Winster, before the technically demanding descent through Darley Bridge.

Eleven riders contested the championship, but it was the age-old rivals Chris Green and Peter Colledge who were to battle it out for the win.

Both veteran riders have won previously on the course, with Colledge being the veteran record holder from last years win with a time of 25 minutes and 5 seconds.

Chris Green showed what great form he has at the minute by not only beating his main rival, but also in taking the new veteran course record in a superb time of 25 minutes and 2 seconds. Colledge wasn’t far behind finishing in second place on 25:15.

The third-placed rider was Steve Heading who recorded 25:27, while Gareth Ferguson dipped under 27 minutes to take fourth spot with 26:49.

Green wasn’t the only record breaker though, as Christine Howard smashed Vicky Dawson’s previous women’s record by some 50 seconds – recording a very impressive time of 31:27.

Another notable ride came from Matlock youngster Cameron Orr – riding the Winster Championship for the first time – finishing in an incredible 8th overall in a time of 31:19.

Tuesday night’s 10-mile time-trial along the A6 was very tough for the 14 riders who took part due to the horrendous headwind on the longer outward leg towards Bakewell.

Despite the headwind, Chris Green still managed an impressive win, recording the only sub-24 minute ride of the night with a time of 23 minutes and 41 seconds.

Second place went to Andrew Briggs who set a new personal best time for the course with 24:22 – more than a minute faster than his previous best.

Mike Blair was the fastest rider to finish on a standard road bike, recording 24:52 – just edging out Steve Heading who was also on a standard road bike, into fourth spot by six seconds.

Marianne Heffron was the fastest female rider, finishing in 28:54 to record 9th place overall.