Determined Baileans pocket first point of the season

MATLOCK Baileans round-up.
MATLOCK Baileans round-up.

Determined to bounce back from their disappointing defeat on the opening day, Matlock Baileans produced a gutsy performance in their second match of the Midlands Women’s Hockey League, Premier Division season.

With every player back to their best and working hard for each other, Matlock held a well-organised Beeston 2nds side to a 1-1 draw,

Coach Jeff Longden urged his side to play simple hockey and get the basics right. The message certainly got through because they linked numerous passes together and dominated a goalless first half, leaving Beeston stuck for options.

The fast pace and high tempo continued into the second period when Matlock took the lead. A cross was smashed through by right-back Jo Blackburn and there was Leyanne Beacham creating space to slot the ball into the net.

As Beeston fought back, they equalised from a short corner that was virtually impossible to defend. But Matlock dug deep and, with Laura Donaldson taking the player-of-the-match award for another outstanding display at centre-back, they were unlucky not to grab the winning goal as many opportunities flashed wide.

Meanwhile, in the Derbyshire Women’s League, Matlock Baileans 3rds made Buxton work hard for a 2-0 victory, despite being forced to make late changes for the First Division fixture.

The home side took the points thanks to goals from short corners. But Matlock played well without creating too many chances of their own. Mary Repton, Milla Kalling-Smith and Katie Price combined expertly in midfield, while Karen Garner kept the ball well on her debut up front. Solid tackling by Ruth Whittaker, Sarah Newbury, Fleur Rhodes and Nick Camfield also helped to frustrate Buxton.

Promising performances by some strong youngsters helped Matlock Baileans 4ths to a 2-0 victory over Ashbourne 3rds in Division Two of the Derbyshire Women’s League. Fran Perry and Lauren Craven netted the goals, while Gemma Allen took the player-of-the-match award.