Good results for Matlocl Cycling Club riders

editorial image

Riders took on a slippy and muddy course during round 9 of the SRAM Notts and Derbys Cyclocross League was held at Holme Pierrepont this weekend.

The Senior men’s race saw Pedal Power’s Paul Cox take a strong lead on the first lap, chased hard by Loughborough Students and Irish U23 XC Champion David Montgomery and George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers).

As the race developed though, Thompson dropped away from the lead group to be replaced by Renvale RT’s Matt Barrett.

This group of three split up as the laps progressed, with Montgomery ultimately taking the victory by a 30 second margin over Barrett. Cox claimed the third spot after suffering with mechanical issues.

In the Women’s race, Kate George (Team Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com) returned to winning ways, making her intentions clear right from the first lap. Madeline Smith (Bolsover & District CC) fought hard behind her to take second Woman and first Veteran, with Phoebe Sneddon (Team Mulebar) putting in her best NDCXL performance of the season, grabbing third place and Marianne Heffron (Zepnat) fourth.

In the Junior Men’s race, Nottingham Clarion’s Alan Avery made light work of the muddy conditions, and claimed victory over three minutes ahead of his clubmate, Tom Chandler. Kieren Brown rounded out the top three.

The Vet Men’s race saw more strong riding, with Naked Bikes’ Chris Rathbone taking the glory with some confidence. Rathbone had looked strong from the first lap, and rode solo after this to finish 30 seconds ahead of Fossa Racing’s Matt Crouch, who edged out Bolsover and District CC’s Andrew Hilton by four seconds to take second.

In the Vet 50 race, Cadence Sport’s Harvey Levann achieved double success, taking his first NDCXL win of the season, and his first CX win after his move up to V50. Zepnat’s Chris Rowe and Pascal Arnoux (Cadence Sport) made up the top three.

The U16 Boy’s race victory was taken by Bailey Wilmott (Derby Mercury), ahead of Leicestershire Road Club’s Liam Davies, and Matlock CC’s John Webster. The U14 Boys saw Alex Haines (Leicestershire Road Club) continue a very strong season by taking the win ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s Finn Mansfield and Reuben Orr (Sherwood Pines) took third.

Fossa Racing’s Ellie Smith put in a convincing performance to take the Youth Girl and U14 win, over a minute and half ahead of U16 Girls’ winner Xan Crees (Derby Mercury). Sarah Brunton (Cambridge Triathlon) and Louis Evans (Heanor Clarion) were second and third U16 Girls, with second and third U14 Girls spots claimed by Matlock CC club mates Sarah Briggs and Amelie Wayte.

The U12 race saw a very strong start, with Beeline Bikes’ Anna Wadworth at the head of the field on the first lap. Despite dropping back a few places over the 5 lap race, Wadworth rode an excellent race, and held on for fourth overall and first girl.

The week-on-week battle between Derby Mercury’s Ben Chilton and Joshua Giddings (Heanor Clarion) played out yet again, although not as closely this week, with Chilton ultimately taking the boy’s win nearly a minute ahead of Giddings. Owen Lightfoot (Rutland Rouleur) was third, Matlock CC’s Harry Large was sixth. In the girls event, Libby Smith (Matlock CC) was second, Nottingham Clarion’s Lotta Mansfield third and Elizabeth Webster (Matlock CC) fourth.

Matlock CC’s Ben Mellor continued his winning ways in the Boys U9 event followed by his clubmate Oscar Atkinson and Charlie Coleston Shields (Lichfield CC) third. Lola Jamieson (Cycle Derby) won the Girls U9 race.

The National Cyclocross Trophy action switched to the North East on a compact course at Durham University’s Cricket Ground featuring fast flat sections with steps, short sharp climbs and descents and Matlock riders did very well for themselves with two appearances on podiums.

In the U12s race Sam Gould (Matlock CC) was sixth, U14 girls Ellie Smith (Fossa) was second behind Nottingham Clarion rider Poppy Wildman with Matlock CC riders Amelie Wayte and Sarah Briggs also riding strongly.

A strong ride through the junior field resulted in Matlock CC’s Arthur Green taking third place. In the over 50 veterans Tim Gould (Zepnat) finished fifth and now lies in fourth position in the overall standings.