Gronlund races to time trial success

Gunnar Gronland, March 2012
Gunnar Gronland, March 2012

Matlock Cycling Club’s Open Hilly time-trial took place on Saturday with 27 riders taking to the start line for an earlyseason test of form.

Temporary traffic lights near Grangemill meant the course had to be altered slightly, reducing the length of the course from 25 miles to around 22 miles.

Despite a temperature of around te degrees, the wind chill made it feel much colder and the riders had to do battle with a fierce headwind on the tough outward leg through Youlgrave and Long Rake.

Local pro-rider and current British National Hill Climb Champion Gunnar Gronlund, the pre-race favourite and scratch man, was the comfortable winner, clocking a time of 56 minutes and 19 seconds.

He was made to work hard for this win though by South Pennine RC’s top rider – Charles Taylor. Taylor was the only other rider to go under the hour, finishing in 57 minutes and 21 seconds.

Third place (and 1st Veteran) went to Nottingham Clarion’s Simon Dale who finished in 1hour and 22 seconds.

Peak Road Club’s Steve Gibson came fourth with Peter Colledge the highest-placed Matlock rider in fifth spot with a time of 1 hour, 1 minute and 37 seconds.

Colledge’s teammate Doug Forrester in his first open event for over ten years, finished a credible eighth overall on 1hr 3 minutes and 9 seconds.

Peak Road Club won the team prize which comprises the combined times of the top three riders from the competing teams (Steve Gibson/Chris Myhill/Simon Owens).

Results: 1 Gunnar Gronlund 56:19, 2 Charles Taylor 57:21, 3 Simon Dale 60:22, 4 Steve Gibson 60:24, 5 Peter Colledge 61:37, 6 Chris Myhill 62:37, 7 Ewan Tarrant 62:45, 8 Doug Forrester 63:09, 9 Adam Kenny 64:10, 10 Stephen Howgill 65:00, 11 Dan Taylor 65:11, 12 Simon Owens 67:33, 13 Trevor Mayne 67:36, 14 Mark Jacobi 67:39, 15 Gareth Ferguson 68:32, 16 Richard Birkin 69:00, 17 Martin Perrett 69:03, 18 Nick Dickens 69:23, 19 Paul Hodgkinson 69:59, 20 Michael Stojanovic 70:03, 21 Craig Wood 70:29, 22 Richard Bramhall 72:27, 23 Michael Wilkinson 73:15, 24 Andrew Briggs 74:17, 25 Jack Fearon 77:21, 26 Brian Peto 80:22, 27 Andrew Marshall 87:02

(Picture courtesy of Eric Ruthenberg)