Home teams hold sway in first week of new season

DARLEY Dale and District Snooker League round-up.
DARLEY Dale and District Snooker League round-up.

The opening week of the new season in the Darley Dale and District Snooker League saw the home teams hold sway, with all of them gaining 4-1 victories.

The popular league, which is sponsored by Harriotts Sweet Chariot Event Planning, got off to a lively start, with the highest break coming from Gareth Johnson, who compiled an excellent 46.

Johnson’s heroics helped Matlock Golf Club defeat Alfreton Palmer Morewood in what was effectively a re-match of last season’s play-off final, given that the Cons Club have moved back across Matlock to their former home.

The switch also allowed them the services of evergreen ex-Derbyshire champion Graham Jones, who took the first frame to set the golf club on their way with a hard-fought 68-57 win.

Ian McKay, another player returning to the fold, soon made it two and then Johnson sealed the deal in frame three before notching his 46 in the doubles to take the weekly best-break accolade sponsored by the Viva Italian restaurant.

Meanwhile, the reigning league champions, Edgefold Club Matlock No.1, also made a successful start to the new campaign by defeating Matlock Club. Neil Parkinson settled the issue in frame three, which he won 65-24, after previous victories for Richard Ferguson (72-53) and Duncan Harwood (64-46). Andy Russell was the champions’ fourth winner.

Justin Weller’s narrow 53-52 verdict in the fourth frame made sure Belper Strutt Club took the spoils at home to Bolehill Institute No.2, who had taken an early lead when Mick Butning beat Steve Bullock 63-52. Strutt bounced back through Wayne Shooter and Mark Newby, with Weller and Newby later landing the doubles leg.

The week’s remaining fixture went the way of Bolehill Institute No.1, who overcame Edgefold Club Matlock No.2, with Andrew Brough’s black-ball win in the third frame proving pivotal. Ian Birks produced a fine performance in the next frame to wrap things up and earn the Mick Hodgkinson Transport player of the week award.