In-form Vaughan top three at Markeaton Cyclocross event

editorial image

First year Cyclocross rider Cheryl Vaughan continued her run of impressive form to take third place in the women’s race of Round 4 of the NDCXL at Markeaton Park on Sunday.

Conditions were greasy to start until heavy rain made for a slippy course for the last race.

First V50 woman was Marianne Heffron (Zepnat) and in the FV40 category Andrea Atkinson was seventh, Louise Glysen eighth, Julie Parker 11th, Jo Barnett 12th and Jane Nicholson 13th with club-mate Abi Waterfall suffering a puncture.

First U23 was former Matlock rider Sarah Lomas (Nutcracker Racing) finishing a fine fifth overall.

In the male categories, Wirksworth’s Cameron Orr (SF Racing) was second and first junior with Ashover’s Lee Shunburne of Team Fossa fourth with Matlock CC’s Andy Vaughan sixth senior and John Webster sixth junior finisher.

In the U16 girls race, there was a breakaway of four riders from the off, with Amelie Wayte (Team Empella) proving too strong for her competitors to take her second U16 win.

Matlock CC’s Marianna Kuszynski finished eighth. In the U14 girls race, Annabel Parker (Matlock CC) continued her fine run in her first year as an U14 finishing in third with clubmate Elodie Edwards eighth in her first race.

In the U16 boys race, Nick Edwards was 11th and Rafael Abrahams 20th. In the U14 boys Alex Gordon was 12th, Sam Gould 13th, Matt Nicholson 17th, Finley Hill 23rd, Lewis Holmes 26th, Nathan Gould 27th, Archie Mercer 30th and Will Longden 33rd.

The U9s race saw a very large field of 82 youngsters. Eleanor Gordon (Matlock CC) continued her strong performances this year in second with club-mates Gracie Day sixth, Isla Woolf eighth and Maisie Robinson 16th.

In the boys cateory Arthur Limb was seventh, Thomas Benson tenth, Gabriel Falconer-White 21st, Ethan Burch 33rd and Isaac Falconer-White 39th.

The U12s lined up with another big field of 72 riders, Harriet Limb of Matlock CC took first with clubmate Grace Longden third, Daisy Nicholson eighth and Lucy Kuszynski tenth.

In the boys starting from the second row Ben Mellor and Josh Williams had a close fought race between them with Mellor taking eighth and Williams ninth.

Matlock CC’s Sam Hadfield was 16th, Tom Woolf 25th, Rory Burch 36th, George Parker 38th, Evan Williams 45th and William Mercer 67th.

In the veteran men’s race the overall win was taken by Dan Alexander of Zepnat. In the V40s Matlock CC’s Pete Hoy was sixth, Jonathan Burch 36th, Jonathan Mercer 40th.

In the V45s Karl Webster was ninth, Dominic Limb tenth, Andy Briggs 13th, Michael Bradley 36th, Andy Woolf 39th and Dave Hill 45th.

In the V50s Chris Green was 5th and Martin Holmes 23rd, in the V55s Chris Watts was 5th and Paul Dalton 10th and in the V60s Tim Kniveton was sixth.

Sunday saw the annual Monsal Hillclimb with eight Matlock CC youth riders and a number of seniors taking part.

Sarah Briggs was third in the Schoolgirl category and Nick Edwards fourth in the Schoolboys.

This Sunday sees the first round of the British Cycling National Trophy Cyclocross at Derby and also the Crich Stand hillclimb event.