Leaders Edgefold No 1 win in Darley Dale Sooker League


Leaders Edgefold No 1 showed no sign of slacking in the Darley Dale Snooker League with an excellent 4-1 win at Belper Strutt No 1.

Richard Ferguson (37 break) and Andy Russell (30 break) each recorded their ninth win in 11 games, whilst Mark Newby gained the only point for the hosts on the black.

Belper Strutt No 2’s Chris Stubbs and Justin Weller were also amongst the breaks, both having runs of 40 in a 3-2 win at Matlock Cons, for whom Nick Kay top scored.

Edgefold No 2 moved off the foot of the table with a 4-1 verdict over Matlock Club, Martyn Taylor opening his account for the season on the black before Mick McFall and Paul Bryan prevented the clean sweep in the doubles.

Third-placed Jaxx Q Club, of Belper, came back from Bolehill No 1 with a 3-2 win as Kevin Holmes produced a great display of potting in his singles leg to settle the issue after Neil Bowler had top scored for the hosts on his league debut.

The closest game of the round came at Alfreton Palmer Morewood, who hosted Bolehill Institute No 2.

Simon Mayes (24 break) inflicted only the second defeat of the season on opposition captain Mick Bunting in the opener before the visitors edged ahead with wins for Ian Peacock and Martin Forster.

77-years-young Ralph Edgson levelled things up beating one of the in form men of the season Keith Robertson but a cracking reverse double from Mark Sayer in the deciding pairs legs settled the issue to keep Bolehill in second place.