Libby is too strong for rest of the field

Lee Shunburne, Matlock Cycling Club.
Lee Shunburne, Matlock Cycling Club.
Share this article

Round Eight of the Notts and Derby Cyclo Cross League was held on Saturday at a new venue, the Rosliston Forestry Centre, with Matlock cyclists making the journey to the very south of the county.

Mercia Cycling Club promoted the event, which proved extremely popular with the riders.

The course was set up to provide some fast racing but with many technical sections. Despite the heavy rain prior to the event, the course did not cut up quite as much as had been predicted.

The under nines race was first to start with 27 riders taking part. The winner was Derby Mercury’s Ben Chiltern who outsprinted his club mate Matthew Luscombe by the smallest of margins. Heanor Clarions Josh Giddings finished 29 seconds down to take the final podium place.

Libby Smith was far too fast for the rest of the under nines girls as she recorded yet another win. Such was Smith’s speed that she finished in fifth place overall, just 58 seconds down on Ben Chiltern.

James Swaddling of Nottingham Clarion took a fine victory in the boys Under 12s race – outsprinting Matlock’s John Webster into second. Webster finished just three seconds adrift, but seven seconds ahead of third placed rider Matthew Shaw of Solihull CC.

Ffyonna Booker had to settle for second place this time round as Poppy Wildman got the better of her in the girls under 12s event. Wildman was made to work hard for victory though and just pipped Booker by three seconds.

Sarah Lomas yet again proved far too strong for the field as she powered her way to yet another win in the girls Under 16s race. Lomas’s winning margin was nearly three and a half minutes showing just how dominant she is this season.

The seniors race was unlike most of the previous rounds as large gaps appeared as each lap went by.

ASFRA’s Kenny Gluykens was way too fast for the rest of the bunch as he powered his way to a fine victory with a winning margin of one minute and 52 seconds from Ashfield RC’s Andy Naylor.

Local rider Chris Metcalfe of Charge Bikes came home third, a further 12 seconds down.

There were strong performances too by Matlock’s Lee Shunburne who came home fifth, and Zepnat RT’s James Furniss who came seventh.