Matlock Cycling Club take team prize

editorial image

On Sunday Matlock Cycling Club held their annual Open 10 mile time trial with riders from around the region competing in very wet conditions.

Winner Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) defied the weather to take victory with a very fast time of 20 minutes 58 seconds.

Second and only 15 seconds behind was Adam Kenway (SportGrub Kuota) with Stefan Harrison (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) third.

The first Matlock CC rider was Richard Cordin in sixth as he helped the club to take the team prize with clubmates Chris Green and Andrew Marshall.

Tuesday saw the Matlock CC Ashford Five mile time trial Championship take place with Kevin White taking first from Richard Cordin and Chris Green.

In the club short hilly time trial championship on Thursday Kevin White took the club honours, but was second to Adam Kenway with Chris Metcalfe in third. Meanwhile Patrick Gould continued his good form with a fourth place in the East Lancs RC Open time trial on Saturday.

In road racng Sarah Briggs again took victory at the midweek Mallory Park Youth series races in the U14 girls category, while at the Fulbeck circuit races near Newark on Saturday,

Clubmate Amelie Wayte put in a strong performance to take second place in the U14 girls event.

John Johnston then wrapped up a successful week on the road for Matlock CC with a great senior category victory in the Beeston RC University GP road race.