Matlock riders back in action after break

editorial image

After a break for World Cup, National Trophy and Regional Championship events, the SRAM Notts and Derbys Cyclocross League swung back into action with Round 11 at Darley Moor race circuit.

In the U9 races, Ben Mellor (Matlock CC) took the boys win and with it confirmed the U9 boys league title for the 2014-15 season and Lola Jamieson (Cycle Derby CC) won the girls race.

Fresh from action at the Milton Keynes World Cup, David Montgomery (Loughborough Students) led for the early stages of the Men’s senior race, but eventually the lead was taken and extended by Mansfield Road Club’s Jonathan Harper.

Harper put on a display of strength and consistency to finish nearly a minute ahead of his nearest rival, Rapha Condor’s Graham Briggs. Fossa Racing’s Lee Shunburne proved his skill in testing conditions once again to take third.

The Junior Men’s win was taken by Nottingham Clarion’s Kieran Howarth, with Bolsover’s Kieren Brown and Tom Chandler (Nottingham Clarion) taking second and third.

The Women’s race saw the well-deserved first NDCXL victory of the season for Bolsolver’s veteran Maddie Smith, who finished with a convincing two minute lead over second placed mountain biker Alice Barnes (TMO Racing).

Empella’s Kate George rounded out the top three overall. Second and third veteran women positions were claimed by Zepnat’s Marianne Heffron and Matlock CC’s Louise Wainwright.

Xan Crees (Derby Mercury) continued her strong season, winning the Girls U16 race well ahead of the other U16 girls, Isobel Conibear (Nottingham Clarion) and Rebecca Laurel (Derby CC). First and second U14 Girls were Amelie Wayte (Matlock CC) and Alice Warbrick (Derby Mercury) with Nottingham Clarion’s Maddie Hubner in third.

The next round of the Cyclocross National trophy took place at Peel Park, Bradford on Sunday and Zepnat RT’s comeback rider Tim Gould used all his technical ability to take the victory from the series leader Chris Young in the Over 50s veteran race.

Matlock CC’s Arthur Green was fourth in the Junior race, Ellie Smith (Fossa Racing) came second to Nottingham Clarion’s Poppy Wildman in the U16s, Amelie Wayte was sixth and Sarah Briggs (Matlock CC) 12th in the U14s race.