Orienteers rise to challenge

David Vincent, Derwent Valley Orienteers.
David Vincent, Derwent Valley Orienteers.

Bow, Coumbs, Woodseats and Littlemoor Woods between Lea Bridge and Riber are collectively some of the most physically challenging orienteering areas found in the World Heritage Derwent Valley.

This, however, did not deter about 250 runners, young and older, rising to the challenge.

Brian Denness’s carefully planned courses certainly tested the stamina navigation skills of all who took part and despite some retirees many were able to post some very creditable times.

The event was centred on Garden Farm, Riber, and Derwent Valley Orienteers is indebted to Tim Sidaway, family and colleagues for welcoming the orienteers and helping make this a very successful event. Eight courses were provided, colour-coded according to difficulty.

There were several successes across the board for Derbyshire runners with Oliver Dent winning the yellow course, Sarah Duckworth the orange, Louis Forshaw-Perring the light green course.

Three juniors showed they are all stars of the future. Andy Sykes, who has shown consistent form, won the senior blue course.

Tim Street from the Airenteers, based in Leeds and the Aire Valley, won the premier brown course in 58 minutes and 5 seconds, just beating local orienteer John Duckworth into second place.

For more details regarding orienteering Derbyshire, visit www.dvo.org.uk or ring 01629 734042.

Local Results:

Junior White

4 Sophie Vincent, 5 Ivan Smith, 6 Alice Crane Yellow 1 Oliver Dent, 3 Samuel Davis, 4 Rachel Duckworth, 6 James Bedwell

Intermediate Orange 1 Sarah Duckworth , 9 Elizabeth Richardson, 10 Tom Murray

Light Green 1 Louis Forshaw-Perring, 4 Joe Uprichard, 5 Lorraine Jackson, 7 Robert Murray, 8 Dave Sharpe

Senior Short Green 4 Jonathan Cundill, 5 Robert Shooter, 8 Pauline Ward, 9 John Brown, 10 Jean Hall, 12 Barrie Bibby,

13 Kirsten Williams, 15 John Cooke

Green 2 David Pettit, 6 Paul Weller, 9 Doug Dickinson, 14 Stuart Swalwell

16 Dave Skidmore

19 Andy Hawkins

21 Ian Parfitt

27 Richard Northall

28 Ranald Macdonald

30 Stuart Wicks

34 David Forshaw

35 Terry Peach

36 Rachel Davis


1 Andy Sykes

2 David Nevell

6 Dai Bedwell

20 Rex Bleakman

23 Mark Goodhead


2 John Duckworth

8 Robert Smith

11 Richard Parkin