Pete powers to win

Peter Colledge of Matlock Cycling Club
Peter Colledge of Matlock Cycling Club

The fresh spring weather attracted a high number of riders to the early starting Winster Circuit Time-Trial on Sunday morning as Matlock Cycling Club’s time-trial series starts to gather momentum.

Matlock’s ‘big three’ time triallists – Richard Cordin, Peter Colledge and Chris Green – were to go head-to-head on the undulating circuit which involves a long steady climb from Birchover before turning through Winster and descending down to Darley Bridge.

Peter Colledge laid down the early season marker as he powered to a fine win in an impressive 25 minutes and 32 seconds. Just seven seconds behind him was the classy Richard Cordin with Chris Green having to settle for third spot at just over a minute further back.

Andrew Woolf, a second-claim Matlock member, rode to fourth spot showing a return to form as he finished in 27 minutes and 32 seconds. Patrick Smart was once again the fastest youth rider, finishing in 13th spot overall at 31 minutes and 25 seconds. The ever-improving Josh Eaton took a huge six minutes off his time from last year to finish in 36 minutes and 47 seconds.

In other news, club stalwart Stewart Marsh flew the flag for Matlock Cycling Club at the Gillingham & District Wheelers 19-mile hilly time-trial on Saturday. The event was held at Bruton in Somerset and is part of the Western Time Trial Association Hard Riders Series.

Marsh battled against the windy conditions to finish exactly one minute faster than his previous personal best on the course – recording a finishing time of 56minutes and 43seconds. The event was won by Bath CC’s Rob Pears who finished in an incredible 42 minutes and 58 seconds to comfortably take the title.

Finally, Richard Cordin and Patrick Gould rode as a Matlock CC team at the Burton and District Cycling Association 2-UP 25-mile time-trial, held near Ashby on Saturday.

The pair finished the course in fifth place overall with a time of 57 minutes and 24 seconds. The event was won by the team of Scott Povey and Matt Bottrill in a time of 52 minutes and 50 seconds.