Peter wins veteran title at Monsal race

Peter Colledge, Matlock CC.
Peter Colledge, Matlock CC.

Sheffrec Cycling Club promoted and organised the 81st Monsal Hill Climb on Sunday, with Matlock Cycling Club members competing.

The event is always well attended with this year having a full field of 120 riders.

The pre-event favourite was ex-National Hill Climb Champion Matt Clinton of the race team.

He was expected to face a stiff challenge from RST Trigon rider Gunnar Gronlund and local riders Chris Metcalfe of Charge Bikes and Lee Baldwin of Buxton CC.

As the last few favourites took to tackling the one-in-six climb, Lee Baldwin set the fastest time with 1 minute 27.9 seconds.

Chris Metcalfe was next up and managed to better Baldwin’s time with a 1:27.0. Gunnar Gronlund finished a second quicker at 1:26.0.

All eyes were on last man Matt Clinton to see if he could live up to his bill as the favourite.

Despite the cheers from the hundreds of spectators on the sides of the closed road, Clinton could only record a time of 1:29.9, therefore leaving Gronlund to take the coveted first prize.

Matlock Cycling Club’s Peter Colledge – better known for this flat time-trialling prowess – won the Veterans title with a superb time of 1:46.1.

Gronlund’s teammate Jessie Walker was the fastest lady with a 1:55.8 – beating local Zepnat RT rider Diane Lee into second.

With the Hill Climb season now in full swing, local riders’ attention turns to the Beeley Hill Climb next Sunday, before Matlock’s infamous Riber and Bank Road double header on October 23.

Heanor Clarion Cycling Club promoted the fifth round of this season’s Notts and Derby Cyclo Cross League on Saturday at Shipley Park.

Matlock Cycling Club’s Elizabeth Webster won the Under Nines girls event, having had an epic battle with Lotta Mansfield of Nottingham Clarion.

The two riders were neck and neck throughout with Webster just managing to get her wheel in front as the two riders crossed the line on the same time.

Forty-nine riders started the Under 12s race which proved to be a real spectacle right from the off.

After the first few laps, a leading group of six riders became established, but one by one, the group dropped riders as James Swadling of Nottingham Clarion set a furious pace at the front.

Swadling proved too strong on the day and managed to take a fine win by the final margin of ten seconds over the ever-improving George Swindell of Matlock Cycling Club.

Matlock riders Tim Elsmore-Martin and John Webster finished in fourth and fifth place respectively in the race.

Ffyona Booker was by far the fastest under 12s girl rider, finishing just 1 minute and 10 seconds down.

It was Gregg Booker who was left flying the flag for Matlock Cycling Club in the boys Youth Race.

Booker pushed hard right from the start but, as the laps went on, he lost touch with the leading group.

Booker managed to hang on for a top ten place, finishing in ninth overall.

It was a procession for Matlock’s Sarah Lomas in the girls Youth Race as she notched up yet another win.

This time she did it by beating second-placed rider Jess Willett by over three minutes.

All eyes were on the senior race to see if the local riders could stop Boardman Elite’s David Fletcher from running away with victory.

As is usually the case, the riders who contest the win broke away early forming a small group of six riders. The group consisted of David Fletcher from Boardman Elite, Adam Biggs of Buzz Cycles, Charge Bikes Chris Metcalfe, Matlock’s Lee Shunburne, RST Racings Gareth Hewitt and Team Jenson’s Steve Davies.

It was obvious right from the start that the strongest rider in the group was indeed Fletcher as he set a pace, which the others were clearly struggling to stay with. Lap after lap, riders tried to stay with the group but after the half way stage, Hewitt and Davies started to lose touch.

With two laps to go, Matlock’s Shunburne started to drop off leaving Metcalfe and Biggs to try and keep Fletcher within site.

Just before the bell was sounded, Fletcher made an attack, distancing Metcalfe. Buzz Cycles’ Adam Biggs managed to hang on to Fletcher’s wheel but it was all in vain as Fletcher launched another attack, which Biggs could not live with. Fletcher crossed the line with his arms aloft to take a fine victory with Biggs finishing just 9 seconds off in second place.

Charge Bikes rider Chris Metcalfe put in one of his strongest performances of the season to take third place at 32 seconds down on Fletchers time.

Matlock’s Lee Shunburne finished just off the podium in fourth spot at 1 minute and 11 seconds down.