Players out in force for invitation event

Matlock Golf Club captain Don Heathcote (centre) with Thornton Salver winners.
Matlock Golf Club captain Don Heathcote (centre) with Thornton Salver winners.
Share this article

THE highlights of the last week at Matlock Golf Club have proved to be the Ladies and Gents Invitation Days.

The Ladies held theirs on Tuesday with 52 female players participating under sunny conditions.

Winners with 40 points on the back nine holes were Shelagh Lancaster and guest Chris Hall from Coxmoor. Runners up, also with 40 points, were Jill Smith and guest Jean Bissell, the lady captain from Ashbourne.

The Gents held theirs on Sunday with blustery conditions and showers in evidence.

Winners with 46 points were Danny Hardy and guest Dave Fox from Coxmoor. Runners up, also with 46 points, were Mike Rapkins and guest Ian Stephenson from Coxmoor. Nearest the pin in two on the 18th hole was guest Dave Barry and nearest drive to the centre fairway on the 17th was John Simmons.

Midweek medal winners were: Division One – Nick Kay 70 (5) 65, Division Two – Martin Finney 78 (10) 68, Division Three – Simon Peters 83 (17) 66, Division Four – Paul Taylor 87 (24) 63.

A club match played during the week saw the Ladies Scratch Team take on Breadsall away, losing 4-1. The vice-captain’s team played away at Chevin, losing 4-2.

On Saturday, the captain’s team played Burton at home, winning 5.5-2.5

The previous week started with a club Sunday Medal. The winners were: Division One – M Cummins Nett 64, Division Two – M. Midgely Nett 65, Division Three – G. Newton Nett 67, Division Four – J. Rosinowski Nett 66. Ladies – E.Morris Nett 70.

On the Tuesday, the Ladies Medal was won by Shelagh Lancaster with a Nett 69. The ladies bronze team lost the County Semi Final to Erewash Golf Club. On the Thursday, the captains team beat Chesterfield 5.5-0.5 and on Saturday beat Mickleover at Mickleover 31-2 to 21-2.

Finally, the club held the annual Thornton Salver, which is a mixed greensomes, and this was won by Ged Elton and Kerry Yates, with the runners up being Tim Ducksbury and Kay Whyld.