Sarah digs deep to triumph in category

Sarah Lomas. Matlock Cycling Club
Sarah Lomas. Matlock Cycling Club

MATLOCK Cycling Club is celebrating after one of its junior riders won the under 16s girls category at the National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series on Sunday.

Shrewsbury played host to the sixth round of this year’s series, with many local riders taking part.

The freezing temperatures meant the ground never cut up too much, with fast paced racing exciting the large crowds that had gathered to watch the nation’s finest cyclo cross riders do battle for the last time in the Trophy Series this season.

The major local excitement came in the Girls Under 16s category. Sarah Lomas of Matlock Cycling Club has been one of the most consistent riders of any category all season, and she came up with the goods when it mattered most.

Lomas, aged 14, was locked in a tight battle for the overall series win, and her intentions were clear from the start as she powered away with the leading group, full of energy and aggression.

She worked hard with the eventual race winner, Abby-Mae Parkinson of RST Racing, to make the rest of the leading group suffer, which included the pre-race series leader Jessica Wilkinson of Birkenhead North End CC.

The relentless pace that Lomas and Parkinson were setting became too much and the chasers dropped further and further back.

Lomas, exhausted from her efforts, had to settle for second place on the day to Parkinson but that was a small price to pay as she secured the National Trophy Title.

Other local success came in the Mens Over 40s category as Zepnat RT’s Jim Bryan backed up last week’s National Championships win, with the overall National Trophy Title.

Bryan was put under pressure right from the gun as his closest series rival Darren Atkins of Team Jewson took the lead going into the first corner.

Atkins pace was too high for the chasing group but Bryan did not panic as he saw Atkins take a ten-second lead after the first lap.

As each lap went on, Atkins was gradually pulling away but Bryan had control of the chasing pack, knowing that a second placed finish would be good enough for him to take the title.

Bryan had calculated his effort perfectly as Atkins took the race victory with Bryan in second place, but Bryan took the overall National Trophy Series title by 20 points.