Smart riding sees Patrick smash junior club record

Marianne Hefron
Marianne Hefron

Matlock Cycling Club’s five-mile Ashford time-trial was a very close contest, with just five seconds separating the top three riders.

Andy Woolf just managed to take the win, recording a time of 11 minutes and 14 seconds.

The ride of the night though was once again from junior rider Patrick Smart. Not only did he finish second, just one second down on Woolf, he also smashed the junior club record for the course.

Mike Blair was third, a further four seconds back.

Kim Baker was the fastest female rider as she recorded a time of 14 minutes and 35 seconds.

Marriane Heffron, absent from the night’s event, still has a commanding lead in the women’s points series as she tops the table having amassed 77 points from 12 events, with Mel Slaney and Sally Pygott tied for second both with 41 points from 5 rides.

Result: 1 Andy Woolf 11:14, 2 Patrick Smart 11:15, 3 Mike Blair 11:19, 4 Neil Armitage 11:50, 5 Andrew Briggs 12:06, 6 Chris Sharp 12:18, 7 Josh Eaton 13:01, 8 Eric Ruthenberg 13:10, 9 John White 13:32, 10 Russell Comery 14:12, 11 William Alves 14:17, 12 Kim Baker 14:35, 12 Sally Pygott 14:35, 14 Bertie Linnel 14:58, 15 Marianne Kuszynski 18:37

A new name took the top spot in Matlock CC’s Thursday night Short Hilly time-trial.

Joe Clark made light work of the 5.3-mile course to take a commanding win, recording a time of 15 minutes and 36 seconds.

Kevin White had to settle for second place for the third consecutive week, finishing in a time of 15:53 and being the only other rider to go under the 16-minute barrier.

John Johnston and the in-form Patrick Smart tied for third spot – both recording 16:25.

Sally Pygott was the fastest female rider, recording a time of 22:21 to finish in 13th place overall.

Result: 1 Joe Clark 15:36, 2 Kevin White 15:53, 3 John Johnston 16:25, 3 Patrick Smart 16:25, 5 Patrick Gould 16:27, 6 Steve Heading 17:07, 7 Shue Fan 18:20, 8 Andrew Auld 18:27, 9 Chris Sharp 18:29, 10 Andrew Briggs 19:15, 11 Eric Ruthenberg 19:41, 12 Matthew Charter 20:48, 13 Sally Pygott 22:21, 14 Marianne Kuszynski 31:14

In other news, Matlock Cycling Club’s Gregg and Ffyona Booker took part in the John Higginson Memorial Trophy road race at Darley Moor circuit near Ashbourne on Saturday.

Elder brother Gregg finished in third spot in the boys U16s category, whilst sister Ffyona finished sixth in the girls U14s.

Matlock Cycling Club time-trialist Alan Cooke has once again been busy in recent weeks clocking up some high placings in Open time-trials in the area.

Two weeks ago, he recorded a time of 21 minutes and 58 seconds over the ten-mile course at Kiveton Park, coming fourth overall in a top class field. The event was won by Mark Thaxton in 21:04.

Last weekend, Cooke placed second overall in the Rossington Wheelers 25-mile time-trial, coming home in a time of 56 minutes and 13 seconds – just 33 seconds behind the winner Danny Lowthorpe.