Smart work from cycling ace Patrick

Patrick Smart
Patrick Smart

Just three seconds separated the top three riders in Matlock Cycling Club’s final Ashford five-mile time-trial on Tuesday night.

Patrick Gould came out on top, recording a time of 11 minutes and 10 seconds, Chris Green was just one second further back on 11:11, while Kevin White recorded a new personal best time to finish in third on 11:13.

Both Andy Woolf and Gareth Ferguson both finished with sub-12 minute rides, recording 11:21 and 11:25 respectively.

Chris Green made amends for his second-placed ride during Thursday night’s 7.4 mile Short Hilly time-trial, by recording yet another victory on the course.

Green was comfortably the fastest rider on the night, recording 20:40. The time was considerably slower than in previous weeks, but the strong headwind halted the rider’s progress as they climbed out from Cromford.

Second place went to Gareth Ferguson who recorded 21:30, while Patrick Smart finished in third spot on 22:02.

Matlock Cycling Club’s time-trials for 2012 came to an end on Saturday with the traditional Sheldon Circuit followed by the free-wheel competition. Just the October Hill Climbs are to come before final positions will be confirmed in the annual points competition.

Patrick Smart’s fine form continued as he set a new course record for the junior category in the Sheldon Time-Trial, recording a superb time of 14 minutes and 31 seconds, averaging over 20mph.

The event was won by Peak RC’s Chris Myhill in a time of 13 minutes and 44 seconds

The first Matlock rider was Pete Colledge, who finished in a time of 14 minutes exactly to take the trophy.

Karen Ledger put in a great performance to finish in fifth place overall, in a time of 15:42.

The free-wheel competition is a bit of fun for the time-triallists to signal the end of the season, and once again Peter Colledge took the trophy.

In addition, The Notts & Derby Cyclo Cross League got underway on Saturday, with the first round being organised and promoted by Bolsover & District Cycling Club.

The venue was Hardwick Hall, which provided a great course, and was challenging for the riders, yet very fast.

The first race of the day was the Under 9s event.

The win was taken by Christopher Gilbert of VC Lincoln, narrowly edging out local rider Finlay Scott by just three seconds.

Third place went to One and All Cycling Club’s Johnny Pickering who finished 41 seconds down on the winner.

Matlock Cycling Club’s Louis Swindell had a very solid start to the season finishing in sixth place overall, just one minute and six seconds down on Gilbert’s time.

The next race was the Under 12s.

Riding a longer course, some 50 riders took to start line in what proved to be a very exciting race.

Jenson Young of Pedal Sport CC never looked in trouble, as he powered his way off the start line, opening up a gap on the chasing pack.

Second place was a much closer affair though. Five riders did battle in the final lap, with just 11 seconds separating them all.

Derby Mercury’s Joshua Scales ended up taking the second place, while Poppy Wildman of Nottingham Clarion took third overall and first girl finisher. Tim Elsmore-Martin took fourth ahead of Lewis Rivers and James Luscombe.

Matlock Cycling Club’s Reuben Orr also secured a top ten place.

In the Youth race, Matlock Cycling Club dominated proceedings.

Will Gascoyne got off to the perfect start as he claimed a hugely impressive victory. He powered his way from the chasing pack along with Derby Mercury’s Tom Weeds, but Weeds couldn’t hold Gascoyne’s wheel as a 21 second gap opened up by the time the pair had finished.

Third place went to Matlock’s Gregg Booker who put in a great performance, finishing above teammate Arthur Green, who was placed fourth.

Cameron Orr topped off Matlock’s domination in the boys category by securing seventh place overall.

The Under 16 Girls event was totally dominated by Matlock’s Sarah Lomas. Lomas never looked in any danger of being beaten as she simply rode away from the field, opening up a huge gap by the time she’d crossed the finishing line.

Matlock Cycling Club’s Ed Hoon (Under 14s) took part in his first ever Cyclo Cross Race and put in a solid performance, getting faster as the race went on.

The seniors and veterans race had some elite level riders taking part, meaning the usual league contestants had to settle for lower placings.

David Fletcher of Orange Monkey Cannondale took a commanding win from Hope Racing Teams Jack Clarkson.

Dirt Wheelers Dieter Droger came third some two minutes and 17 seconds down on Fletcher’s time.

Ben Eedy of Empella Cyclo-Cross took fifth place overall and was highest placed of the regular riders, while last year’s league winner Chris Metcalfe of Charge Bikes took 8th place overall – 3 minutes and 49 seconds down on Fletchers time.

Zepnat Race Team’s James Furniss showed that he will be in contention this year as he finished in ninth place overall on the same time as Metcalfe.