Steve heads field in the first time-trial

Steve Heading of Matlock Cycling Club.
Steve Heading of Matlock Cycling Club.
Share this article

The first Matlock Cycling Club time-trial took place in freezing, icy conditions on Saturday as nine hardy riders contested the five-mile Sheldon circuit.

Despite the bright winter sunshine, the conditions were particularly bad on the descent into Kirk Dale, with a few riders taking no risks and opting to walk down one particular section, but it was veteran rider Steve Heading who took the first win of the season.

Heading is a class act, and comfortably beat second-placed rider Paul Hodgkinson by nearly 30 seconds. Heading’s finishing time was 14 minutes and 53 seconds to Hodgkinson’s 15:22.

A newcomer to the Matlock time-trial scene – Alex Avery – finished a very credible third, clocking a time of 15 minutes and 47 seconds, while just seven seconds separated fourth/fifth/sixth-placed riders Gareth Ferguson, Andrew Briggs and Andrew Auld.

Christine Howard continued her good form from the cyclo-cross season as she finished in eighth spot overall on 19 minutes and four seconds.

Placings have now been confirmed for the Notts and Derby Cyclo Cross League that ended last week.

Once again, Matlock boasted one of the highest number of participants for any club in the league, and enjoyed many successes in the various categories.

Matlock Cycling Club stalwart Harry Gould was once again the Over 70s champion, this time for the fourth occasion while clubmate Terry Taylor won the Over 65s category for the second time.

Chris Green was also victorious in the Over 45s category while Christine Howard was yet again the female veterans champion having had a superb season.

In the elite seniors category, Matlock Cycling Club had strong showings with Lee Shunburne finishing in second place overall, while second claim Matlock rider Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) took the top spot, his first overall league title.

Zepnat RT’s Diane Lee was second overall in the Senior Women’s category.

In the junior categories, Matlock Cycling Club had incredible success, with considerable praise going to the hard work of the many club coaches who have worked hard all season to improve rider skills and fitness levels.

Sarah Lomas was the Youth Under 16 Girls’ champion, having dominated the category from start to finish. Arthur Green was sixth in the Boys equivalent.

New Matlock recruit Will Gascoyne was the comfortable winner of the Under 14s Youth category.

The Under 12s category saw many high placings too with Matlock’s John Webster finishing second overall.

Ffyona Booker was second in the girls category and teammate Ellie Smith came home third. Matlock Cycling Club also won the Under 12s Team Championship.

In the under nines category, Libby Smith was the dominant winner in the girls’ section, with teammate Elizabeth Webster in second place.

Sam Gould finished in a credible sixth spot overall, to cap off what was a great season.