Taylor masters the course at time trial

Charles Taylor from Matlock Cycling Club
Charles Taylor from Matlock Cycling Club

Matlock Cycling Club hosted an early season Open Time Trial on Saturday attracting a hard selection of riders.

The notoriously difficult 25-mile circuit runs from Rowsley, taking compeitors through Youlgreave, Monyash, Newhaven, Grangemill and Winster before finishing just short of Hawleys Bridge.

A total of 40 riders braved the weather and took to the start line, knowing that local man, and last year’s winner, Charles Taylor of South Pennine RC, would be the man to beat. Early starter Rob Watkinson, of Doncaster Wheelers, set the pace and had the fastest time in the clubhouse while other later riders had yet to finish. Watkinson posted a time of 1 hour 6 minutes and 2 seconds and held the lead right up until Charles Taylor crossed the line.

Taylor’s eventual time of 1 hour, 2 minutes and 52 seconds was by far the fastest on the day. The last man to start was Steve Gibson of Peak RC.

Unfortunately, he could only manage a distant second (but first veteran) as he finished over three minutes back from Taylor’s impressive time.

Matlock Cycling Club had success in the team event.

This was due to the fact that their top three riders posted the fastest combined time, with Peter Colledge finishing in fourth place overall in 1 hour 6 minutes and 49 seconds. Patrick Gould finished in sixth place overall with 1 hour and 8 minutes. In addition, Chris Green finishing in eighth place with a time of 1 hour, 9 minutes and 8 seconds. Matlock’s Vicky Dawson was the fastest lady, finishing in a time of 1 hour 23 minutes and 26 seconds. Clubmate Patrick Smart was the fastest youth rider with a time of 1 hour 20 minutes and 4 seconds.

The top ten were: 1. Charles Taylor (South Pennine RC) 1:02:52, 2. Steve Gibson (Peak RC) 1:06:00, 3. Rob Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers) 1:06:02, 4. Peter Colledge (Matlock CC) 1:06:49, 5. Simon Dale (Nottingham Clarion) 1:06:54, 6. Patrick Gould (Matlock CC) 1:08:00, 7. Stewart Wilson (Baines Racing) 1:08:47, 8. Chris Green (Matlock CC) 1:09:08, 9. Stewart Gregory (Nottingham Clarion) 1:09:09, 10. Chris Baines (Buxton CC) 1:09:34.