Top teams go head to head

PJ’z CLUB No 1 of Ripley made what could be a decisive move this week in the Darley Dale and District Snooker League by beating nearest rivals at the time Bolehill Institute No 1 4-1 to move six points clear in A Division with only four games remaining.

Andrew Brough rocked the hosts with a storming performance to put the visitors 1-0 up but the remaining singles matches were won by Andrew Gratton, John Smith and late stand-in Simon Colebourne. Ben Monk’s 40 break in the concluding doubles match rubber stamped the win.

Matlock’s Edgefold Club went second courtesy of a 3-2 success over Belper Strutt Club No 1. Martyn Taylor contributed a 43 break in the deciding doubles match, partnered by Duncan Harwood, who won both frames he was involved in. Justin Weller, aided by a 26 break, and Wayne Shooter were successful for the visitors.

Bolehill Institute No 2 got back to winning ways with a 4-1 home win over the Matlock Club. Sean O’Sullivan and Dwayne Martin won both their singles and doubles matches.

In B Division, no quarter was given by the runaway pair Matlock Golf Club and Jaxx Q Club No 1 of Belper, who are now locked together on 41 points.

The Golf Club won 4-1 at Jaxx Q Club No 2 with Chris Parker and Graham Jones successful in both frames they contested while Andy Hayes won his fifth game in six outings for the home team.

Jaxx No 1 took all five points from PJ’z No 2 of Ripley with Paul Ogden and Kevin Holmes top scoring in their doubles match at the end of the night to complete the maximum haul.

Bolehill No 3 remained in third place after a 3-2 win at Belper Strutt Club No 2. Mick Bunting and Ian Cresswell sealed the win in the deciding doubles match after Martin Forster and Fred Doran had top scored earlier for their respective teams.

League week 12 results: Edgefold Club Matlock 3, Belper Strutt Club No 1 2; Bolehill Institute No 2 4, Matlock Club 1; PJ’z Club Ripley No 1 4, Bolehill Institute No 1 1; PJ’z Club Ripley No 2 0, Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1 5; Jaxx Q Club Belper No 2 1, Matlock Golf Club 4; Belper Strutt Club 2, Bolehill Institute No 3 3.

Breaks: M Taylor 43; B Monk 40,25; G Jones 27; J Weller 26; A Gratton 25; A Hayes 22.