Webster secures back-to-back wins

John Webster. Matlock Cycling Club.
John Webster. Matlock Cycling Club.

HoLme Pierrepoint, near Nottingham, held round ten of this year’s Notts and Derby Cyclo-Cross league on Saturday, which bought considerable success for Matlock Cycling Club’s talented youngsters.

Matlock’s Arthur Green took his first win of the year in the Youth Under 16s race. Green was very aggressive right from the start and within the first lap, he’d put most of the top riders under pressure meaning that gaps started to form.

The only rider who could keep pace was Velo Club Rutland’s Oliver Maxwell. The pair broke free and remained together for the rest of the race before Green put in a final dig, coming into the home straight, managing to get ahead and take the win by just two seconds.

The distance back to third place was nearly a minute with last week’s Sinfin Moor Park winner Tom Weeds of Derby Mercury making up the final podium position.

Matlock newcomer William Gascoyne took another superb win in the Youth Under 14s race. Gascoyne was 41 seconds faster than the second-placed rider Tim James or Bourne Wheelers.

More success came when Matlock’s John Webster took the second of his back-to-back wins in the Under 12s race.

Webster currently has great form and the win never looked in doubt. Jenson Young of Pedal Sport Cycling Club had managed to stay with Webster for the majority of the race but it was clear to see that Webster had left something in reserve for the final lap as he opened up a gap, which Young could not respond to.

Webster’s teammate Ffyonna Booker was unlucky not to take the win in the girls Under 12s race. Poppy Wildman of Nottingham Clarion just had the edge by a mere 11 seconds, with Booker having to settle for second place.

The day got better for the Websters as John’s younger sister Elizabeth proved too strong for the rest of the field in the girls under nines race.

With the absence of Matlock’s Lee Shunburne, veteran rider Chris Green was left to carry the flag at the front of the race for his club.

Despite Green’s best efforts to keep pace, he had to settle for finishing seventh in the veteran category. Green’s efforts were good enough for 23rd overall from a starting field of 148 riders.

The overall seniors’ win went to Cult Racing’s Dan Booth, who finished over two minutes ahead of TFN Tri Club’s Andrew Stuart, who outsprinted Buzz Cycle’s Rob Parkin by just half a wheel length.

Last year’s overall league winner Ben Eedy of Empella had to settle for fourth, while last week’s winner at Sinfin Moor Park – Andy Naylor of Ashfield RC – had to make do with fifth place at two minutes 34 seconds down on Booth’s time.

Local under 23s’ rider Matt Sumpton of Zepnat Race Team performed strongly to finish in seventh overall.

Sumpton has been in a battle all through the race with fellow under 23s rider Lawrence Frost of Ashfield RC but managed to open up a 15-second gap by the finish line.

Sumpton’s Zepnat teammate Diane Lee was the comfortable winner in the lady senior category.