Young rider Patrick smashes records in final season ride

Kevin White
Kevin White

Matlock Cycling Club’s final 10-mile time-trial of the season saw 23 riders make one last effort to better season and personal best times.

Patrick Gould – the winner of so many of the 10’s this year – was once again dominant as he took a fine win in 22 mins and 1 second.

Second place went to Buzz Cycles rider Keiron Tennyson, who recorded a time of 22:19.

Third place went to Kevin White, who set a new personal best time for the course with a 22:22 to edge out Chris Green in to fourth spot by just 4 seconds.

Gareth Ferguson showed he is returning to the type of form that saw him become the 10-mile champion in 2012, clocking a time of 22:45 to finish in fifth.

The ride of the night though came from junior rider Patrick Smart. He not only smashed his only personal best time for the course, in doing so, he also set a new junior course record, finishing in an astonishing time of 23 minutes and 11 seconds – good enough to finish 7th

RESULTS: 1 Patrick Gould 22:01, 2 Keiron Tennyson 22:19, 3 Kevin White 22:22, 4 Chris Green 22:26, 5 Gareth Ferguson 22:45, 6 Mike Blair 22:49, 7 Patrick Smart 23:11, 8 Matt Ingram 23:24, 9 Arthur Green 23:42, 10 Neil Armitage 24:22, 11 Cameron Orr 24:57, 12 Paul Dalton 25:09, 13 Kyle Fantom 25:25, 14 Danny Featherstone 25:34, 15 Richard Cordin 25:37, 16 Josh Eaton 26:12, 17 Maz Heffron 26:38, 18 Roger Bacon 26:54, 19 Alix Archer 26:57, 20 John White 27:10, 21 Russell Comry 28:13, 22 Sally Pygott 29:18, 23 Claire Featherstone 31:25

The 30+degree heat didn’t put ten riders off from competing in Matlock Cycling Club’s Thursday night 6.5-mile Hilly time-trial.

The southerly wind aided riders as the climbed up from Cromford through Lea. Buzz Cycles rider Adam Kenway took full advantage of this to set a new course record time of 17 minutes and 25 seconds. This equated to an average speed of in excess of 22mph which is quite amazing

Kenway took the record from Leigh Fearn, who was a little off his usual pace, back in second on18:07. Chris Green also went under 19 minutes with a time of 18:49 to take third, whilst John Johnston set a new personal best time of 19:27 to finish in fourth.

RESULTS: 1 Adam Kenway 17:25, 2 Leigh Fearn 18:07, 3 Chris Green 18:49, 4 John Johnston 19:27, 5 Mike Blair 20:05, 6 Paul Hodgkinson 21:41, 7 Chris Sharp 22:10, 8 Eric Ruthenberg 23:03, 9 Kyle Fantom 23:42, 10 John White 25:15.