Shunburne stars again at Markeaton Park

The SRAM Notts and Derbys Cyclocross league returned to Markeaton Park for round 10 organised by Derby Mercury with difficult, muddy conditions.

The senior men’s race saw a series of different leaders throughout the race but Fossa Bikes’ Lee Shunburne’s ability to deliver consistent lap times rewarded him with the victory, ahead of Pedal Power’s Paul Cox. Shunburne’s Fossa team-mate Andrew Naylor took third.

In the women’s race, Sarah Lomas (Nutcracker Racing) delivered a strong performance to take the win, ahead of first veteran Maddie Smith (Bolsover and District CC).

In the men’s junior race, all of the top three rode strongly into the top of the men’s field overall, with Arthur Green (Matlock CC) taking fifth overall and first junior. Matlock’s Greg Booker (Team Elite) was fourth.

The veteran men’s race saw Zepnat’s Daniel Alexander deliver some of the fastest laps of the day on his way to victory.

In the Youth races, the U16 Boys victory was taken emphatically by Sherwood Pines’ former Matlock CC rider Cameron Orr.

Continuing her strong season, Ellie Smith (Fossa Racing) claimed the overall youth girl win, as well as first U14.

Second and third U14 girls were Matlock CC’s Amelie Wayte and Sarah Briggs.

Matlock CC’s Libby Smith put in a strong performance to see her take victory in the girls’ U12 race, nearly two minutes ahead of her nearest rival Grace Fishleigh (Bolsover and District CC).

Ben Mellor (Matlock CC) claimed another victory in the U9s boys from his clubmate Oscar Atkinson in second.

Sunday saw the Midlands Cyclocross League event held at Worcester on a technical course with many bankings and off camber climbs and descents and Zepnat’s Tim Gould continued his comeback with victory in the veterans race.

This Saturday sees the first ever round of the Cyclocross World Cup held in Britain at Milton Keynes and on Sunday the National Trophy round will be held held at the same venue where local riders Arthur Green, Ellie Smith, Amelie Wayte, Sarah Briggs and Tim Gould will be taking part.