Snowy Bakewell hosts SRAM League event

Libby Smith in action at Bakewell. Below, Arthur Green battles in the snow.
Libby Smith in action at Bakewell. Below, Arthur Green battles in the snow.

Round 12 of the SRAM Notts and Derbys Cyclo-cross League saw riders and spectators brave sub-zero temperatures and snowy conditions at Bakewell Showground last weekend, courtesy of race organisers Matlock CC.

By the time the senior races were underway, the snow and ice had given way to mud in numerous sections of the course, forcing pit crews to work hard for their riders.

In the U9s race Ben Mellor continued his domination of the league by winning again from Jacob Steed (Bolsover & District CC) and Seb Varley (Derby Mercury with Evie Kinnemonth (Derby Mercury) taking the girls victory.

The Girls U12 race saw Libby Smith (Matlock CC) claim victory ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s Lotta Mansfield and Elizabeth Webster (Matlock CC).

In the U12 Boys race, Derby Mercury’s Ben Chilton shrugged off the challenges of the conditions to ride to the win over a minute ahead of team mate Joseph Kininmonth. Chilton’s usual race sparring partner, Joshua Giddings (Heanor Clarion) was a further 30 seconds down in third.

The U14s race saw Ellie Smith add to Fossa Racing’s successes on the day taking first youth girl with a strong ride, with Xan Crees (Derby Mercury) taking first U16 and second overall girl.

The youth race saw a win in the U16 Boys for Derby Mercury’s Bailey Wilmott ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s James Swadling and Matlock CC’s John Webster.

In the Senior Men’s race, current league leader Andrew Naylor (Fossa Racing) took a strong early lead which he defended throughout the race to take victory ahead of first Junior Arthur Green (Matlock CC).

Green, fresh from his exploits at the World Cup round in Namur, battled hard throughout the race keeping Naylor in sight, but ultimately was never able to close the gap.

Naylor’s Fossa team mate Lee Shunburne took third spot, with William Gascoigne (Pines Cycles) and Bolsover’s Kieren Brown taking second and third Junior.

The Women’s race saw another convincing performance from Veteran Maddi Smith (Bolsover and District CC), who took the overall win by three minutes ahead of second placed Amy Jones.

Matlock’s Louise Wainwright demonstrated her continuing ability to deliver results in tough conditions by claiming third overall and second veteran. Phoebe Sneddon (Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport), battled mechanical issues to claim third senior whilst Matlock’s Christine Howard was third veteran.

In the men’s V40 race, Zepnat’s Daniel Alexander made light work of the conditions to take victory nearly four minutes ahead of his nearest challenger, Peak Road Club’s Dan Cook. Bolsover’s Andrew Hilton was third.

Zepnat also took the honours in some style in the V50 race courtesy of Tim Gould, who managed to lap all of the competitors within his category to claim victory.

This Sunday (4th January) sees the next round of the Cyclocross National Trophy at Moorways Leisure Centre, Derby with local riders in action across all categories.