Tim takes the title as riders hit Abergavenny

Tim Gould, pictured in Derby last week, took the V50+ national title. Photo by Terry Fletcher.
Tim Gould, pictured in Derby last week, took the V50+ national title. Photo by Terry Fletcher.

Last weekend saw the National Cyclocross Championships held in Abergavenny, with Dales riders in action across all categories competing against the best in the country.

It was Tim Gould of the Darley Dale Zepnat RT team that took the national title in the veteran over 50 race, the 50-year-old rider getting the better of former senior and veteran champion Chris Young and defending champion, Team Jewson’s Philip Roach.

Gould and Young faced off in the National Trophy the previous weekend with Young taking the final round victory but Gould showed great resilience to bounce back and beat his rival to become champion.

Helen Wyman (Kona) saw off the challenge of Derby’s Nikki Harris (Telenet Fidea) to take her ninth Women’s British Cycling National Cyclo-Cross Championship.

Bakewell’s Annie Last produced a fine performance after a slow start to pick her way through the field to jump from ninth up to third by the end of the second lap to take the bronze medal.

Ian Field stormed to his fourth Men’s National Cyclo-Cross Championship with Specialized UK rider Liam Kileen in second and Lewis Craven (Wheelbase Altura MGD) third.

Isla Rowntree added yet another National Championship trophy to her collection as the prolific 45-year-old Shropshire rider won the veteran women’s race.

The three-time senior champion beat Dales rider Maddi Smith (Bolsover and District Cycling Club) and Marie Jackson (Paul Milnes Cycles/Bradford Olympic RC) to the line to take first place.

Last year’s winner, Derby’s Tracey Fletcher (Team Empella Cyclo-cross.com) came in fourth place.

In the Under 16s Dan Tulett took the title with Matlock rider Cameron Orr finishing in fifth. Poppy Wildman of Nottingham Clarion rounded off a great season with a national title in the Under 14s race, whilst Matlock’s Ellie Smith (Fossa Racing) was fifth, Amelie Wayte tenth and Sarah Briggs 14th.

The Junior title was taken by Derbyshire’s Tom Craig (Pioneer-Scott Syncros), with local rider Josh Waters (Sherwood Pines) fourth, Will Gascoyne (Pines Cycles - Felt - Enve) fifth and Arthur Green (Matlock CC) ninth.

This Saturday sees the penultimate round of the Notts and Derbys Cyclocross League at Chilwell in Nottingham with local riders vying to secure their league positions.